FEEC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

FEEC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • ETA International does not publish a FEEC pass rate in the reviewed official sources.
  • The knowledge exam has 25 questions, a 2-hour limit, and a 75% passing score.
  • Hands-on competency through an ETA-approved course must be satisfied in addition to the knowledge exam.
  • One free retake is available within one year of the first session under ETA's stated conditions.

The Pass Rate Question: What Is Actually Published

If you searched for the Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning (FEEC) pass rate hoping for a tidy percentage, here is the honest answer: no official pass rate has been publicly disclosed in the reviewed sources from ETA International, the certifying body. There is no cohort statistic, no annual first-attempt figure, and no published breakdown by test site or delivery method.

That absence matters. Many exam-prep pages fill the gap with a confident-sounding number. Any figure you see attached to FEEC that is not traceable to ETA should be treated as unverified. This article takes a different approach: instead of inventing a statistic, it walks through the data that is verifiable, explains why a headline pass rate would be hard to interpret even if one existed, and shows you how to estimate your own readiness against the actual exam structure.

Source discipline: FEEC here means the ETA International aerospace fiber optic certification covering inspection, cleaning and testing of fiber optic connectors in aviation settings. ARINC and SAE standards supply technical context, but ETA is the certifying body. Facts about other credentials that happen to share the acronym do not apply to this exam.

For a broader view of the exam's challenge level, see our companion piece, How Hard Is the FEEC Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Why a Single Percentage Would Mislead You

Even if ETA published a pass rate tomorrow, the number would blend very different candidate populations. FEEC is not a walk-in-and-sit exam. Candidates generally arrive through an ETA-approved hands-on training course, and that training route shapes who sits the knowledge exam and how prepared they are.

The training filter changes the denominator

Because an ETA-approved hands-on training course is required, the people who reach the knowledge exam have already invested in structured instruction. ETA lists external training providers, and KITCO is named specifically for FEEC training. KITCO states that successful completion of its knowledge competencies and hands-on skillsets qualifies students to take the FEEC examination. A pass rate drawn from this population says little about how a self-taught candidate with no flight-line exposure would fare.

Two components, not one

Certification requires a proctored knowledge examination and satisfaction of the required hands-on competency. A single pass-rate figure could refer to either component or to both combined, and without a stated definition it is nearly impossible to compare. An instructor-led practical pass rate and a 25-question written exam pass rate are fundamentally different measurements.

Small exam, small samples

A specialized aerospace fiber certification does not have the candidate volume of a mass-market IT credential. Small cohorts produce volatile percentages, which is another reason a precise figure would be less meaningful than it looks.

The Numbers That Are Verifiable

While the pass rate is undisclosed, the exam's structure is documented. These are the concrete facts you can plan around:

ItemWhat the issuer sources show
Certifying bodyETA International
Knowledge exam length25 questions (official exam-information page)
Time limit2 hours
Passing score75% on the knowledge exam; hands-on competency must also be satisfied
Examination feeUS$130
Remote proctoring charge$16 for the two-hour session where that route is arranged
Retake policyOne free retake within one year of the first session, under ETA's stated conditions
Published pass rateNot publicly disclosed in reviewed official sources
Scored vs. unscored itemsNot publicly stated

A few cautions apply. A third-party claim of 75 questions exists online, but the official exam-information page says 25, and that is the figure to use. Also, because scoring and item allocation are not published, you should not compute a "minimum number of correct answers" from the 75% threshold; the rounding and any unscored items are unknown. For deeper detail on scoring, read FEEC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

The $130 is not the whole bill: The examination fee does not include required provider training, which is a separate amount unless a provider expressly bundles it. Budget accordingly using our FEEC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

How to Read Pass-Rate Claims You Find Online

You will likely encounter pass-rate percentages in marketplaces, course listings and forum posts. Use this checklist before trusting any of them:

  1. Who is the source? Only ETA could publish a true FEEC cohort pass rate. A seller's "success rate" typically describes their own customers, often defined loosely.
  2. What counts as success? "Passed" might mean completing the course, finishing a practice test, or passing the proctored exam. These are not equivalent.
  3. What period and sample? A figure with no date, sample size or definition cannot be verified.
  4. Does the question format match? Marketplace question banks sometimes imply item formats (such as single-answer multiple choice) that the public issuer sources do not establish for FEEC. Do not treat marketplace formatting as an official specification.

The safest stance is simple: absent an ETA-published statistic, there is no FEEC pass rate to cite. What you can do is judge your own preparation against the real content demands, which is what the rest of this article addresses.

Where Candidates Actually Lose Points

Without published pass data, difficulty has to be inferred from the exam's design. The knowledge exam is short at 25 questions, which means each item carries significant weight. On a small exam, a handful of misses can matter, and weak spots in one area are hard to offset with strength elsewhere.

The technical base is ARINC-driven

ETA's current page bases FEEC mainly on ARINC Report 805-5, with aspects of 803-3, 806-7.2.1 and 807-4, preserving ETA's notation exactly. SAE's landing page dates ARINC 805-5 to January 28, 2019. A 2019 ETA announcement referenced 807-3, but that is historical and should not replace the live page's 807-4. If you study from older or mismatched revisions, you risk learning procedures that differ from what the exam draws on. No exact current exam-form year or usable issuer topic outline was retrieved, so confirm the references with your training provider.

Practical fluency is tested alongside theory

Because the hands-on component is mandatory, candidates who memorize terminology but have never inspected a connector under a scope tend to struggle with the judgment side of the work: recognizing contamination, deciding whether an endface is acceptable, and choosing the right cleaning approach. KITCO's course equipment list gives a feel for the practical toolset: optical light source and power meters, a visual fault locator, video inspection probes, and 400x / 200x microscopes.

Key Takeaway

Treat the 25-question knowledge exam as a precision test, not a volume test. Shore up your weakest topic first, because a short exam leaves little room to absorb a weak area.

Domain-by-Domain Readiness Check

ETA has not published a weighted exam blueprint, so the three areas below are provider-defined preparation topics drawn from KITCO's course scope, not official ETA domain weights. Use them as a self-audit rather than a scoring map. For the full breakdown, see FEEC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 3 Content Areas.

Domain 1: Aviation Fiber Optic Theory and Fundamentals

The conceptual foundation. If you cannot explain why contamination causes loss and reflection, the later procedures become rote memorization.

  • How light propagates in fiber and why endface condition affects performance
  • Aviation-specific considerations that differ from enterprise or telecom cabling
  • Terminology used in ARINC 805-5-aligned procedures

Domain 2: Inspection and Cleaning Practices

The heart of FEEC. This area covers single ferrule connectors and termini, multi-terminus connectors such as D38999, ARINC 600 and EPX, and use of the fiber optic video inspection probe (FOVIS).

  • Inspect-clean-reinspect discipline on single ferrule connectors and termini
  • Handling the geometry and access challenges of multi-terminus connectors
  • Operating a video inspection probe and interpreting what it shows
  • Matching cleaning method to contamination type

Domain 3: Testing Theory and Practices

Measurement and diagnosis, including link loss testing and troubleshooting procedures and best practices.

  • Using an optical light source and power meter correctly
  • Understanding link loss testing and what the results indicate
  • Applying a visual fault locator and systematic troubleshooting
  • Recognizing when a failed test points to contamination versus damage

A practical self-check: for each area, can you explain the reasoning aloud without notes, and can you perform the matching task in a lab or training setting? If either answer is no, that area is your priority. A practice test on our main site can help surface which domain needs the most attention.

The Retake Safety Net and What It Does Not Cover

ETA offers one free retake within one year of the first session under its stated conditions. That is a genuine safety net, and it softens the downside of a first-attempt miss. But read the limits carefully:

  • The free retake does not establish free repeat tuition for the required training course.
  • It does not waive remote-proctoring charges if you retest through a remote route.
  • The one-year window means a failed attempt should be followed by prompt, targeted review rather than a long gap.

Test-day rules also affect performance. ETA requires photo ID and proctoring. Its general onsite FAQ permits scratch paper and non-programmable or scientific calculators, prohibits personal electronic devices, and requires used scratch paper to be surrendered. Remote-specific permissions should be confirmed through the delivery arrangement, since ETA also offers ExamRoom.AI remote knowledge testing. Note that the required practical training and assessment must still be handled through an ETA-approved school. Scheduling specifics are covered in FEEC Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Renewal note: The current certification term is two years, but ETA's own sources conflict on renewal details for workers who perform the certified job less than 60% of a full-time work year. The web text says all certifications are good for two years, while the linked renewal form says below-60% workers' certification expires after one year. This conflict is unresolved, so verify directly with ETA before planning around renewal. The linked form lists a $50 renewal fee, though its revision date is uncertain.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Three Domains

Since no pass rate tells you how much preparation is "enough," build a plan from the exam's structure. One logical order follows the way the topics build on each other. For a fuller plan, see our FEEC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

Week 1

Theory first (Domain 1)

  • Learn why endface condition drives loss and reflection
  • Review aviation-specific terminology and the ARINC 805-5 context
Weeks 2-3

Inspection and cleaning depth (Domain 2)

  • Spend the most time here; it is the namesake of the certification
  • Work through single ferrule, termini and multi-terminus connector scenarios
  • Practice interpreting video probe images, ideally on real hardware in your training course
Week 4

Testing and troubleshooting (Domain 3)

  • Cover link loss testing, the power meter and light source, and the visual fault locator
  • Run mixed-topic practice sets and revisit the weakest area before test day

Domain 2 gets the largest time share because it is the core of the credential and the most practice-dependent, but that allocation is an editorial recommendation, not an official weighting. Your own audit results should override it. Before booking anything, confirm eligibility details in FEEC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify, and see how the credential connects to employment in FEEC Jobs.

When you are ready to test your recall under realistic conditions, take a timed set on our FEEC practice exams and review every miss by domain rather than by raw score.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the FEEC pass rate?

ETA International has not publicly disclosed a FEEC pass rate in the reviewed official sources. Any percentage you see online should be treated as unverified, particularly seller-advertised success rates, which are not FEEC cohort statistics.

What score do I need to pass the FEEC knowledge exam?

The passing score is 75% on the knowledge exam, and the required hands-on competency must also be satisfied. Because scoring and item allocation are not published, a precise minimum number of correct answers cannot be reliably calculated.

How many questions are on the exam and how long do I have?

The official exam-information page lists 25 questions with a 2-hour time limit for the knowledge exam. A third-party claim of 75 questions is not supported by the issuer's page. No exact timer for the practical assessment was verified.

Can I retake the exam if I fail?

Yes. ETA offers one free retake within one year of the first session under its stated conditions. This does not mean free repeat training or waived remote-proctoring charges, so confirm the details with ETA and your training provider.

Is FEEC worth pursuing if there is no published pass rate?

The missing statistic is a reason to prepare against the real exam structure rather than a reason to avoid the credential. For a value assessment, see Is the FEEC Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.

Ready to pass your FEEC exam?

Put this into practice with free FEEC questions across every exam domain.