FEEC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

FEEC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • The FEEC knowledge exam requires 75%, and the required hands-on competency must also be satisfied separately.
  • The knowledge exam has 25 questions and a 2-hour limit; scored versus unscored item allocation is not publicly stated.
  • Do not convert 75% into a "number of correct answers" because ETA does not publish that figure.
  • The exam fee is US$130; required ETA-approved training is a separate cost unless your provider bundles it.

The Number: 75% on the Knowledge Exam

If you are searching for the FEEC passing score, here is the answer that matters: the Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning (FEEC) knowledge exam, administered by ETA International, has a passing standard of 75%. That is the single published threshold for the written portion of the credential.

FEEC is an aerospace-focused fiber optics certification. ETA International is the certifying body, and its current exam page bases the credential mainly on ARINC Report 805-5, with aspects of 803-3, 806-7.2.1 and 807-4. The ARINC and SAE documents provide the technical context; ETA sets and administers the certification.

If you are still orienting yourself, our overview pieces on what FEEC certification is and what FEEC stands for cover the basics. This article stays focused on scoring.

Read the fine print on "75%": The 75% figure applies to the knowledge exam. Passing it does not by itself complete FEEC certification, because the hands-on competency component has to be satisfied as well. Treat 75% as one gate, not the whole credential.

Two Gates, Not One: Knowledge Plus Hands-On Competency

Many candidates assume a fiber optics certification is a single sitting with a single score. FEEC is structured differently. It combines a proctored knowledge examination with a separate, required hands-on training and skills component delivered through an ETA-approved school.

Gate 1: The knowledge exam

This is the part with the 75% threshold. It runs 2 hours and contains 25 questions per ETA's official exam-information page. It is proctored, either at an approved site or through an ETA remote-testing arrangement.

Gate 2: Hands-on competency

You cannot test your way around the practical side. An ETA-approved hands-on training course is required, and the competency requirement must be satisfied in addition to the written score. ETA lists KITCO as an external training provider for FEEC, and KITCO states that completing its knowledge competencies and hands-on skillsets qualifies students to sit the examination. No exact FEEC practical-assessment timer or issuer-mandated course-hour total was verified, so confirm the details with your provider.

For eligibility specifics, see our guide to FEEC requirements and how to qualify. FEEC is stand-alone; an Associate CET is not a universal prerequisite, and no mandatory degree or employment-hour threshold was verified for initial exam eligibility.

What the Issuer Does Not Publish About Scoring

This is where a lot of online content goes wrong. Because 25 questions and 75% sit side by side, it is tempting to do the arithmetic and announce that you need "19 correct" or "18.75 rounded up." Do not do this.

Why you should not calculate a "required correct count": ETA does not publicly state how the 25 questions are allocated between scored and unscored items, and the scoring method is not published. Any specific minimum-correct number is a guess presented as a fact. Prepare to be comfortably above 75% on every content area rather than aiming at a computed floor.

Several other points are also not established by the public issuer sources reviewed:

  • Item format. The precise question format (for example, single-answer multiple choice) is not confirmed by the retrieved issuer sources. Marketplace descriptions of question formatting should not be treated as an official specification.
  • Domain weights. No public ETA domain list or percentage weighting was verified. Any weighting you see in a practice resource is editorial.
  • Pass rate. ETA's reviewed official sources do not disclose one, and seller success percentages are not FEEC cohort pass rates. Our FEEC pass rate article explains what can and cannot be said honestly.
  • Adaptive or open-book status. Neither was verified for FEEC.

The practical takeaway: plan for a 25-question exam where every item could count, and where you are expected to demonstrate competence across the whole subject area.

The FEEC Exam at a Glance

ItemWhat the issuer sources support
Certifying bodyETA International
Knowledge exam passing score75%
Number of questions25 (scored/unscored allocation not publicly stated)
Time limit2 hours
Hands-on componentRequired, through an ETA-approved training course
Examination feeUS$130
Remote proctoring charge$16 for the two-hour ETA remote-proctoring route, where arranged
RetakeOne free retake within one year of the first session, under ETA's stated conditions
Certification termTwo years (with an unresolved renewal-source conflict, covered below)
Published pass rateNot publicly disclosed

Note that the $130 fee covers the examination only. Required provider training is a separate cost unless the provider expressly bundles it. For a complete money picture, read our FEEC certification cost breakdown.

Where Your Points Come From: Three Content Areas

ETA has not published an official FEEC domain list with percentage weights. The three content areas below come from the reviewed preparation scope and are best understood as the topics a candidate needs to master, not as an official exam blueprint. They reflect the teaching groups in KITCO's aviation course, a provider ETA names for FEEC training. Our complete guide to the FEEC content areas goes deeper on each.

Domain 1: Aviation Fiber Optic Theory and Fundamentals

This is the conceptual foundation. Expect the knowledge exam to test whether you understand how light behaves in fiber and why aircraft fiber links are handled the way they are.

  • Core fiber optic principles as they apply to aviation installations
  • Why contamination and endface condition matter to link performance
  • Terminology you will need to read ARINC-based procedures correctly

Domain 2: Inspection and Cleaning Practices

This is the namesake of the credential. The scope covers single-ferrule connectors and termini, multi-terminus connectors (D38999, ARINC 600 and EPX connectors), and use of the fiber optic video inspection probe (FOVIS).

  • Inspecting before cleaning, and judging what you see on the endface
  • Cleaning technique differences between single-ferrule and multi-terminus connectors
  • Handling D38999, ARINC 600 and EPX connector styles
  • Operating inspection probes and microscopes (the provider course lists 400x and 200x microscopes and video inspection probes)

Domain 3: Testing Theory and Practices

This area covers link loss testing and troubleshooting procedures and best practices. It connects the theory in Domain 1 to measurable results.

  • Link loss testing methodology and what a result means
  • Using an optical light source and power meter, and a visual fault locator
  • Troubleshooting approach when a link does not perform as expected

Because the weighting is unpublished, a single weak area is a real risk. A candidate who is excellent at cleaning but vague on link loss testing cannot assume the exam will not probe it. Spread your preparation across all three.

Test-Day Rules That Affect Your Score

A 75% requirement leaves little room for avoidable mistakes, so know the conditions before you sit down.

  • Identification and proctoring. ETA requires photo ID and proctoring.
  • Scratch paper and calculators. ETA's general onsite FAQ permits scratch paper and non-programmable or scientific calculators, prohibits personal electronic devices, and requires used scratch paper to be surrendered.
  • Remote delivery. ETA also offers ExamRoom.AI remote knowledge testing. Remote-specific permissions should be confirmed through the delivery arrangement, and the required practical training and assessment still go through an ETA-approved school.
  • Providers. Testing runs through ETA Certification Administrators at approved sites, using Trapeza online testing or paper and pencil. It is not a Pearson VUE, PSI or Prometric exam.

Key Takeaway

Confirm your delivery method, ID requirements and permitted materials before exam day. The rules above come from ETA's general onsite FAQ, so verify anything remote-specific with whoever arranges your session. See our FEEC exam dates and scheduling guide for the logistics side.

Retakes, Renewal and What a Pass Keeps Alive

If you fall short of 75%

ETA's stated conditions provide one free retake within one year of the first session. That is a useful safety net, but note what it does not establish: free repeat tuition, or waived remote-proctoring charges. If you used a remote route, budget on the assumption that those charges may apply again, and ask before rescheduling.

After you pass

The current certification term is two years. The FEEC-specific maintenance section says people performing the certified job for at least 60% of a full-time work year renew annually using an employer proficiency affidavit, while others must recertify; failing the recertification practical requires training again. The linked renewal form lists a $50 renewal fee.

An unresolved source conflict: The renewal form says certification for workers below the 60% threshold expires after one year, while the current web text says all certifications are good for two years. ETA's own materials disagree, and we are not resolving that for you. Confirm the current rule directly with ETA before you plan around either timeline. No FEEC-specific numeric continuing-education hour requirement was verified.

For the career side of holding the credential, see our pieces on FEEC jobs and whether the certification is worth it.

Building a Plan Around a 75% Target

Since the issuer publishes no blueprint, the safest strategy is to prepare evenly and then shore up weak spots. If you want a fuller preparation framework, our FEEC study guide lays out the approach, and how hard the FEEC exam is helps you calibrate expectations. Here is one way to sequence the three content areas around your hands-on course:

Week 1

Theory First (Domain 1)

  • Build the aviation fiber fundamentals before the hands-on course
  • Learn the vocabulary used in ARINC-based procedures
Week 2

Inspection and Cleaning (Domain 2)

  • Study connector families: single ferrule, D38999, ARINC 600, EPX
  • Pair reading with your hands-on inspection and cleaning practice
Week 3

Testing and Troubleshooting (Domain 3)

  • Work through link loss testing logic and troubleshooting sequences
  • Review light source, power meter and visual fault locator use
Week 4

Timed Practice and Gap Repair

  • Take timed practice sets against the 2-hour limit
  • Rework any area where you consistently score below your target

Theory goes first because inspection and testing questions are much easier to reason through when you understand why endface condition affects loss. Taking timed sets on our FEEC practice test site lets you check readiness across all three areas before exam day. For a quick last-minute refresher, our FEEC cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts, and you can find more question-style practice at FEEC Exam Prep.

One caution on practice scores: because ETA publishes no item allocation, treat a practice percentage as a rough indicator, not a prediction. Aim to clear 75% with a margin, and to do so consistently, not once.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the passing score for the FEEC exam?

The knowledge exam requires 75%. The required hands-on competency must also be satisfied, so the written score alone does not complete certification.

How many questions do I need to answer correctly?

ETA does not publish a minimum number of correct responses. The exam has 25 questions, but the scored versus unscored allocation is not publicly stated, so any specific correct-answer count would be a guess.

How long is the FEEC knowledge exam?

The knowledge exam is 2 hours. No exact practical-assessment timer or issuer-mandated course-hour total was verified, so ask your ETA-approved training provider about the hands-on schedule.

Can I retake the exam if I do not reach 75%?

ETA states one free retake is available within one year of the first session under its stated conditions. That does not establish free repeat tuition or waived remote-proctoring charges, so confirm the details before rebooking.

What is the FEEC pass rate?

It is not publicly disclosed in the reviewed official sources. Success percentages quoted by sellers are not FEEC cohort pass rates, so treat them with caution. See our FEEC pass rate article for more detail.

Ready to pass your FEEC exam?

Put this into practice with free FEEC questions across every exam domain.