- What You Are Actually Buying With FEEC
- The Cost Side of the Ledger
- Where the Value Shows Up
- Cost vs. Return at a Glance
- Who Gets the Most From FEEC
- Maintenance: The Long-Term Cost Few People Price In
- The Skills That Make the Credential Real
- Sequencing Your Prep to Protect the Investment
- A Reasoned Verdict
- Frequently Asked Questions
- FEEC is issued by ETA International; the exam fee is US$130, but required hands-on training is a separate cost.
- The knowledge exam has 25 questions, a 2-hour limit, and a 75% passing score; the hands-on competency must also be met.
- Three domains cover theory, connector inspection and cleaning, and link loss testing and troubleshooting.
- Certification lasts two years, but the issuer's renewal wording conflicts, so verify your renewal path with ETA directly.
What You Are Actually Buying With FEEC
Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning (FEEC) is an aerospace-focused fiber optic certification administered by ETA International. It is built mainly on ARINC Report 805-5, with aspects of ARINC 803-3, 806-7.2.1 and 807-4 as ETA lists them. That lineage matters for an ROI discussion, because it tells you exactly what kind of value the credential carries: it is a narrow, practical, aviation-specific proof that you can inspect, clean and test fiber links the way aircraft maintenance and installation environments expect.
That is a very different proposition from a broad IT or telecom credential. If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, the first question is not "is certification good?" but "does my work, or the work I want, involve aircraft fiber harnesses, termini and multi-terminus connectors?" If the answer is yes, FEEC maps almost directly onto your daily tasks. If the answer is no, the value drops quickly. For a plain-language overview of the credential itself, see What Is FEEC Certification? and What Does FEEC Stand For?.
The Cost Side of the Ledger
Known costs
The verified numbers are modest. The ETA examination fee is US$130, and no member versus non-member difference is published in the current exam information. If you arrange remote proctoring through ETA's ExamRoom.AI route, a two-hour proctoring charge of $16 applies. A free retake is available within one year of the first session under ETA's stated conditions, which softens the downside of a failed first attempt, though it does not waive tuition or remote charges.
The unknown that drives the real total
The $130 is not the whole bill. FEEC requires completion of an ETA-approved hands-on training course, and the price of that training is a separate, unverified amount unless a provider explicitly bundles it with the exam. ETA lists KITCO as an external training provider for FEEC, and KITCO states that completing its knowledge competencies and hands-on skillsets qualifies students to sit the exam. Course pricing, duration and travel are provider-specific, so you need a direct quote before you can calculate a true all-in figure. Our FEEC Certification Cost breakdown walks through how to build that total.
Also factor in the non-cash costs: time away from work for training, any employer-paid hours, and the renewal fee later on (more on that below).
Where the Value Shows Up
1. Proof of hands-on competence, not just knowledge
Because FEEC pairs a proctored knowledge exam with a separate required hands-on training and skills component, the credential signals that you have physically handled the equipment. The KITCO course lists optical light source and power meters, visual fault locators, video inspection probes, and 400x and 200x microscopes. A hiring manager reading "FEEC" can reasonably infer practical exposure to that toolset. That is more persuasive than a knowledge-only certificate for roles where a contaminated endface can cause a failed link test.
2. Fit with aerospace hiring needs
Aircraft fiber installations are unforgiving: tight connector tolerances, harsh environments, and strict inspection and test procedures. Employers who maintain or install avionics networks, flight-line systems, or aircraft harnesses have a clear reason to prefer technicians who already speak the ARINC-based vocabulary. Where those jobs cluster, and how to search for them, is covered in FEEC Jobs.
3. Lower friction for employers
When a candidate arrives already trained on inspection probes, cleaning methods and link loss testing, the employer spends less on onboarding. That is a real, if hard-to-quantify, advantage in negotiations and in competitive hiring.
4. Stand-alone accessibility
FEEC is stand-alone. An Associate CET is not a universal prerequisite, and no mandatory degree, employment-hour threshold, or reference count was verified as an initial eligibility requirement. The gate is the approved hands-on training course. That lowers the barrier compared with credentials that demand years of documented experience. Details are in FEEC Requirements.
Cost vs. Return at a Glance
| Factor | What Is Verified | What You Must Confirm Yourself |
|---|---|---|
| Exam fee | US$130, no published member differential | Any site or administration surcharges at your test location |
| Remote proctoring | $16 for two hours where that route is arranged | Whether your delivery arrangement permits remote testing |
| Required training | ETA-approved hands-on course is mandatory | Provider price, duration, travel, and whether the exam fee is bundled |
| Retake | One free retake within one year of the first session, under ETA conditions | Whether tuition or remote charges are repeated |
| Credential term | Two years per current web text | Your actual renewal path (see maintenance section) |
| Renewal fee | Linked renewal form lists $50; revision date uncertain | Current fee with ETA before you renew |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed | Nothing reliable exists; ignore seller success claims |
| Salary uplift | No FEEC-specific figure verified | Local job postings and your employer's pay structure |
Who Gets the Most From FEEC
Strong fit
- Avionics and aircraft technicians whose work touches fiber harnesses, connectors and termini.
- Flight-line and MRO personnel responsible for inspecting and cleaning connectors during maintenance.
- Installers and testers performing link loss testing on aircraft fiber links.
- Employer-sponsored candidates whose company covers training, which collapses the cost side of the equation.
Weaker fit
- Enterprise data-center or outside-plant technicians who never touch aircraft systems; a general fiber credential may serve them better.
- People hoping a single certificate will, by itself, open an aerospace career without any related experience or interest.
Key Takeaway
Decide on fit before price. If your target employers maintain or build aircraft fiber systems, FEEC is a targeted, relatively inexpensive credential. If they do not, the money is better spent elsewhere.
Maintenance: The Long-Term Cost Few People Price In
ROI is not a one-time calculation. FEEC's current certification term is two years, and the FEEC-specific maintenance section describes a split: people performing the certified job for at least 60% of a full-time work year renew annually using an employer proficiency affidavit, while others must recertify. Failing the recertification practical means training again.
Here is the wrinkle you should know about: the linked renewal form says below-60% workers' certification expires after one year, while the current web text says all certifications are good for two years. This is an unresolved conflict in the issuer's own materials, and this article does not pretend to settle it. Contact ETA before you plan your renewal budget. The form also lists a $50 renewal fee, though its exact revision date is uncertain. No FEEC-specific numeric continuing-education hour requirement was verified, so do not assume the rules from other ETA credentials apply.
The practical ROI implication: if your job keeps you on aircraft fiber work most of the year, renewal is likely a low-friction affidavit process. If you only touch fiber occasionally, budget for the possibility of repeat training, which erodes the credential's value.
The Skills That Make the Credential Real
A certification only pays off if you can perform. The three domains below are the content areas associated with FEEC preparation. They are provider-defined teaching groups drawn from the ETA-listed KITCO course, not an official ETA weighted blueprint, and no official domain weights have been verified. For a deeper look, read FEEC Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 3 Content Areas.
Domain 1: Aviation Fiber Optic Theory and Fundamentals
The conceptual base: how light travels in aircraft fiber, why aerospace installations differ from ground networks, and the vocabulary used in ARINC-based documentation.
- Fiber construction and light transmission basics
- Aircraft-specific environmental and handling considerations
- Terminology you will meet in ARINC 805-5 and related reports
Domain 2: Inspection and Cleaning Practices
The heart of the credential and the part that most directly prevents field failures. Candidates work with single ferrule connectors and termini as well as multi-terminus connectors, including D38999, ARINC 600 and EPX styles, and learn to use the fiber optic video inspection probe (FOVIS).
- Inspecting endfaces before mating, every time
- Cleaning methods suited to single and multi-terminus interfaces
- Recognizing contamination and damage on the video probe image
- Handling the 400x and 200x microscopes referenced in provider coursework
Domain 3: Testing Theory and Practices
How to verify that a link performs, and how to find out why it does not.
- Link loss testing using a light source and power meter
- Using a visual fault locator to find breaks and tight bends
- Troubleshooting procedures and best practices
- Interpreting results against expected loss
Notice how heavily the credential leans on inspection and cleaning. That weighting of practical emphasis (editorial, not an official percentage) is exactly why the credential is useful to employers: endface contamination is a leading cause of avoidable link problems, and a technician who inspects first saves troubleshooting time later.
Sequencing Your Prep to Protect the Investment
Because the exam fee is small relative to training, the smartest way to protect your ROI is to avoid wasting your free retake. A sensible order follows how the content builds on itself:
Domain 1 foundations
- Learn the theory and ARINC vocabulary first; every later topic assumes it
- Review the scope of ARINC 805-5 using the SAE Mobilus metadata page
Domain 2 inspection and cleaning
- Give this the most time; pair reading with hands-on practice from your approved course
- Drill connector types: single ferrule, D38999, ARINC 600, EPX
Domain 3 testing and troubleshooting
- Practice link loss reasoning and fault-finding logic
- Run timed practice sets to rehearse the 25-question, 2-hour format
For a fuller plan, use the FEEC Study Guide, and consult the FEEC Cheat Sheet for a last-pass review. To gauge readiness, try the FEEC practice tests before you book your session. Realistic timed practice is also the best way to judge how hard the FEEC exam will feel for you personally, since no official pass rate exists to calibrate against (see FEEC Pass Rate).
A Reasoned Verdict
Judged on cost, FEEC looks inexpensive at the exam level: US$130 and an optional $16 remote proctoring charge. The real spend is the mandatory hands-on training, which varies by provider and which you should price before committing. Judged on return, the credential is a focused signal for aerospace fiber work, strongest when your job or target employer actually involves aircraft fiber systems and weakest when it does not.
Three things keep the analysis honest. First, there is no published pass rate and no verified FEEC-specific salary figure, so beware anyone selling you precise numbers. Second, the renewal rules in ETA's own materials contain an unresolved conflict, so confirm your path directly. Third, passing requires both the 75% knowledge score and the hands-on competency, so the training component is not optional or secondary.
If your career runs through aircraft fiber installation, inspection or maintenance, FEEC is a reasonable, low-barrier credential that documents skills you will use daily. If it does not, skip it. When you are ready to test your knowledge, start with the practice exams, and confirm logistics in FEEC Exam Dates and the FEEC Passing Score guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
The ETA examination fee is US$130, with no published member or non-member difference. If you arrange ETA's remote proctoring, a two-hour charge of $16 applies. The required hands-on training is a separate cost set by the provider, so the $130 is not an all-in price.
No mandatory degree, employment-hour threshold or reference count was verified as an initial eligibility requirement. FEEC is stand-alone, and an Associate CET is not a universal prerequisite. The key requirement is completing an ETA-approved hands-on training course.
The knowledge exam has 25 questions, a 2-hour time limit and a 75% passing score. You must also satisfy the required hands-on competency. The exact item format and the split between scored and unscored questions are not publicly stated.
The current term is two years. People performing the certified job at least 60% of a full-time work year renew annually via an employer affidavit; others must recertify. ETA's renewal form lists a $50 fee and implies a one-year expiry for lower-usage workers, which conflicts with the web text, so confirm with ETA.
ETA states that one free retake is available within one year of the first session, under its stated conditions. This does not establish free repeat tuition or waived remote-proctoring charges, so check the terms with your training provider and test site.