- Why There Is No Fixed FEEC Exam Calendar
- How FEEC Scheduling Actually Works
- The Training Gate That Controls Your Date
- Delivery Routes: Test Site vs. Remote Proctoring
- Fees and Charges That Attach to a Sitting
- What to Expect on Test Day
- The One-Year Free Retake Window
- Your Certification Clock After You Pass
- Sequencing the Three Domains Before Your Sitting
- Frequently Asked Questions
- FEEC is administered through ETA International approved sites and remote options, not on a published fixed national testing calendar.
- An ETA-approved hands-on training course is required, so your training schedule effectively sets your earliest exam date.
- The knowledge exam is 25 questions over 2 hours, with a 75% passing score.
- The examination fee is US$130; ETA's two-hour remote-proctoring charge is $16 where that route is arranged.
Why There Is No Fixed FEEC Exam Calendar
Candidates searching for "FEEC exam dates 2026" often expect a grid of quarterly windows, registration deadlines and results-release days, the way some large vendor exams publish them. The Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning (FEEC) certification does not work that way. The certifying body is ETA International, and the public ETA sources reviewed for this article do not publish a national FEEC testing-window calendar, an application cutoff date or a results-posting schedule.
That is not a gap in your research. It reflects how ETA delivers this credential: through ETA Certification Administrators at approved sites, using Trapeza online testing or paper/pencil, plus an ETA remote-proctoring route (ExamRoom.AI) for the knowledge test. FEEC is not a Pearson VUE, PSI or Prometric exam, so the "find a seat at a testing center next Tuesday" model does not apply. Your date is negotiated with a proctor, a site or a training provider, and the practical side of the certification must still be handled through an ETA-approved school.
If you are still orienting yourself on the credential itself, What Is FEEC Certification? and What Does FEEC Stand For? cover the basics. This article focuses on timing and logistics.
How FEEC Scheduling Actually Works
Scheduling a FEEC sitting is a sequence of dependencies rather than a single registration click. In practice it looks like this:
- Identify an ETA-approved training route. ETA names and links specific outside training providers for FEEC. KITCO is the one ETA names and links for this certification.
- Complete the required hands-on training. The hands-on component is mandatory; the knowledge exam alone does not earn the credential.
- Arrange a proctored knowledge exam. ETA requires photo ID and proctoring. This can happen at an approved test site or through remote proctoring arranged for the session.
- Sit the exam and satisfy the hands-on competency. You need a 75% on the knowledge exam, and the required hands-on competency must also be satisfied.
ETA maintains a test-site finder for locating approved sites. Availability at a given site depends on that site's proctor and its own scheduling, which is why you should contact the site or your training provider directly rather than waiting for a public date to appear.
Who Controls the Date
In most real-world cases, the training provider or an approved site controls the earliest realistic date, not ETA's headquarters. If your employer is sending a group of technicians through training, the exam is commonly arranged around that cohort. If you are an individual candidate, you will be coordinating directly with a provider and a proctor.
The Training Gate That Controls Your Date
The single most important scheduling fact for FEEC is that an ETA-approved hands-on training course is required. FEEC is a stand-alone certification, so an Associate CET is not a universal prerequisite, and no mandatory degree, employment-hour threshold or reference count was verified as an initial eligibility requirement. But the training course is the gate. For a deeper look at who can sit the exam, see FEEC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
KITCO states that successful completion of its knowledge competencies and hands-on skillsets qualifies students to take the FEEC examination. Its course (course 6000-1490, Flight Line Aviation Certified Inspection, Cleaning and Test) teaches with equipment such as optical light sources and power meters, visual fault locators, video inspection probes, and 400x / 200x microscopes. That hands-on equipment exposure is exactly why the training calendar, not an exam calendar, dictates when you can realistically test.
For more on what training covers and how to choose a route, see FEEC Training.
Delivery Routes: Test Site vs. Remote Proctoring
ETA offers more than one way to take the knowledge portion. Which route you pick affects how quickly you can get a session and what small extra charges apply.
| Factor | Approved Test Site | Remote (ExamRoom.AI) |
|---|---|---|
| Proctoring | On-site proctor required | Remote proctoring arranged for the session |
| Format options | Trapeza online testing or paper/pencil | Remote knowledge testing |
| Practical component | Handled through an ETA-approved school | Still handled through an ETA-approved school |
| Extra charge noted | None specific to FEEC verified | $16 for the two-hour remote-proctoring window where arranged |
| Identification | Photo ID required | Photo ID required |
| Scratch paper and calculators | General onsite FAQ permits scratch paper and non-programmable/scientific calculators | Confirm remote-specific permissions through the delivery arrangement |
The remote option is convenient, but it does not remove the hands-on requirement. A remote knowledge session satisfies only the knowledge exam; the practical training and assessment must still run through an ETA-approved school.
Fees and Charges That Attach to a Sitting
When you schedule, three money items can appear, and it is worth keeping them separate:
- Examination fee: US$130. No member or non-member differential is published in the current FEEC exam box.
- Remote-proctoring charge: $16 for ETA's two-hour remote-proctoring window, where that delivery route is arranged.
- Required provider training: a separate amount that is not verified here unless your provider expressly bundles it with the exam.
Do not treat $130 as an all-in price. Training is its own cost center and varies by provider. For the full picture of what a complete FEEC pathway runs, read FEEC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and for the career-return side, Is the FEEC Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.
What to Expect on Test Day
The knowledge exam is a proctored, 25-question test with a 2-hour limit and a 75% passing score. The reviewed public issuer sources do not state the scored/unscored allocation, so you should not assume every item counts or compute a rounded "minimum correct" number. They also do not establish the precise item format (for example, single-answer multiple choice), so ignore marketplace claims about question styling. A third-party claim of 75 questions is not supported by the official exam-information page.
Logistics Checklist
- Bring valid photo ID; ETA requires it and requires proctoring.
- Expect scratch paper and a non-programmable or scientific calculator to be allowed at an onsite session, and expect to surrender used scratch paper.
- Leave personal electronic devices out of the room; ETA's onsite FAQ prohibits them.
- For a remote session, confirm in advance what is permitted, since remote-specific rules should be verified through the delivery arrangement.
- No FEEC-specific open-book or adaptive-testing status was verified, so prepare as if the exam is closed-book and fixed-length.
For a closer look at how the score is evaluated, see FEEC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass, and for expectations on difficulty, How Hard Is the FEEC Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
The One-Year Free Retake Window
Under ETA's stated conditions, one free retake is available within one year of your first session. That one-year clock is the closest thing to a hard deadline in the FEEC scheduling process, and it is worth treating seriously if your first attempt does not go the way you hoped.
Failing the knowledge exam is not the same as failing the hands-on competency, and both must be satisfied. If you are weighing odds, note that a FEEC cohort pass rate is not publicly disclosed in the reviewed official sources, and seller-advertised success percentages are not FEEC pass rates. FEEC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows explains how to interpret what little is known.
Your Certification Clock After You Pass
Timing does not stop once you pass. Your credential has a validity term, and understanding it helps you plan your next date, which is a renewal date rather than an exam date.
- The current certification term is two years.
- ETA's FEEC-specific maintenance text says people who perform the certified job for at least 60% of a full-time work year renew annually using an employer proficiency affidavit; others must recertify, and failure of the recertification practical requires training again.
- The linked renewal form lists a $50 renewal fee, though its revision date is uncertain.
Hiring managers care about whether your certification is current, so tracking this date matters. See FEEC Jobs and FEEC Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis for how the credential relates to employment.
Sequencing the Three Domains Before Your Sitting
Once you have a realistic date, work backward from it. One caution on scope: ETA has not published a public examination domain list or weighted blueprint that was verified for this article. The three areas below come from the exam outline used for this prep site and map closely to the provider-defined teaching groups, not to an official ETA weighting. Study the full detail in FEEC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 3 Content Areas.
Domain 1: Aviation Fiber Optic Theory and Fundamentals
Schedule this first because everything else depends on it.
- How light travels in aviation fiber and what causes loss
- Terminology you need before you can read test results or inspection images
- The ARINC context: ETA bases FEEC mainly on ARINC REPORT 805-5, with aspects of 803-3, 806-7.2.1 and 807-4
Domain 2: Inspection and Cleaning Practices
This is the hands-on heart of the credential and deserves the most repetition.
- Single ferrule connectors and termini
- Multi-terminus connectors, including D38999, ARINC 600 and EPX connectors
- Use of the fiber optic video inspection probe (FOVIS)
- Recognizing contamination and damage on the endface, and knowing what to do next
Domain 3: Testing Theory and Practices
Leave this for after you are comfortable with inspection results.
- Link loss testing
- Troubleshooting procedures and best practices
- Equipment concepts such as light sources, power meters and visual fault locators
A simple way to place this on a calendar is to give Domain 1 the first block of preparation, spend the longest middle stretch on Domain 2 alongside your hands-on training, and finish with Domain 3 plus a full pass through everything. The reasoning is straightforward: theory makes inspection images interpretable, and interpreted inspection results feed directly into link loss troubleshooting.
Theory First
- Cover Domain 1 fundamentals and terminology
- Skim the ARINC 805-5 context for the vocabulary it uses
Endface Work
- Concentrate on Domain 2 alongside your hands-on course
- Review each connector family: single ferrule, D38999, ARINC 600, EPX
Test Logic and Review
- Work through Domain 3 link loss and troubleshooting scenarios
- Finish with timed practice across all three domains
For a fuller preparation plan, see FEEC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and use the FEEC practice test to check your recall before you book. A condensed review sheet is available in the FEEC Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts. When you are ready to measure your readiness against realistic question styles, the FEEC Exam Prep practice questions are the natural next step.
Frequently Asked Questions
The reviewed ETA International sources do not publish a fixed 2026 FEEC testing-window calendar or application deadline. Sessions are arranged through ETA Certification Administrators at approved sites, by remote proctoring, or through your training provider, so confirm availability directly.
Yes. An ETA-approved hands-on training course is required, and the practical training and assessment must be handled through an ETA-approved school even if you take the knowledge test remotely. No universal degree or employment-hour threshold was verified as an eligibility requirement.
The knowledge exam is 25 questions over 2 hours, and the passing score is 75%. The required hands-on competency must also be satisfied. The scored versus unscored question allocation is not publicly stated.
One free retake is available within one year of your first session under ETA's stated conditions. That does not establish free repeat tuition or waived remote-proctoring charges, so verify what is covered before rebooking.
The current certification term is two years, but ETA's sources conflict for workers below the 60% job threshold: the web text says two years while the renewal form says one year. Confirm your specific expiration date with ETA before planning renewal.