- The FEEC Cost Picture at a Glance
- The $130 Examination Fee: What It Covers
- Required Hands-On Training: The Unpriced Line Item
- Remote Proctoring and Delivery Charges
- Retake Policy and Failure Risk
- Renewal Costs and the Source Conflict
- Budgeting Time and Money Across the Three Domains
- Sample Budget Worksheet
- Who Pays: Employer Funding and Hiring Context
- Frequently Asked Questions
- ETA International's published FEEC examination fee is US$130, with no member or non-member price difference listed.
- An ETA-approved hands-on training course is required, and its price is separate from the $130 exam fee.
- ETA's two-hour remote-proctoring charge is $16 where that delivery route is arranged.
- One free retake is available within one year of the first session, under ETA's stated conditions.
The FEEC Cost Picture at a Glance
The Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning (FEEC) credential is issued by ETA International, and its cost structure is more layered than a single sticker price suggests. The number most candidates find first, $130, is real, but it covers only the knowledge examination. Because FEEC also requires a hands-on training and skills component through an ETA-approved school, your true cost depends heavily on which provider you choose and how that provider packages its course.
This guide separates the confirmed figures from the unconfirmed ones so you can build a realistic budget. If you want the broader background on the credential first, see What Is FEEC Certification? or the shorter explainer What Does FEEC Stand For?
The $130 Examination Fee: What It Covers
ETA lists a US$130 examination fee for FEEC. A few specifics matter when you plan around it:
- No member discount is published. The current FEEC exam information does not show a member versus non-member price split, so budget the same $130 regardless of affiliation.
- It buys the knowledge exam. The knowledge test is 25 questions on the official exam-information page, with a 2-hour time limit and a 75% passing score.
- It does not buy training. The required hands-on course is a separate purchase unless a provider expressly bundles it.
- Testing runs through ETA Certification Administrators. Sessions take place at approved test sites, using Trapeza online testing or paper and pencil. This is not a Pearson VUE, PSI, or Prometric exam, so you will not find FEEC in those scheduling portals.
For details on what the 25-question knowledge test demands, read FEEC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass. Note that the scored versus unscored question allocation is not publicly stated, so no one can responsibly tell you a rounded minimum number of correct answers.
Required Hands-On Training: The Unpriced Line Item
This is where most budgets go wrong. ETA requires an approved hands-on training course, and no verified, universal price exists for it. The amount is set by the provider, and ETA does not publish a fixed training-hour total or fee that applies to every candidate.
What can be said with confidence comes from the ETA-listed provider KITCO, which teaches a course titled Flight Line Aviation Certified Inspection, Cleaning and Test Course Overview (course 6000-1490). KITCO states that successful completion of its knowledge competencies and hands-on skillsets qualifies students to sit the FEEC exam. Its course equipment includes:
- Optical light source and power meters
- Visual fault locator
- Video inspection probes
- 400x and 200x microscopes
That equipment list is a clue about where the training money goes. Fiber inspection and test gear is expensive, which is why hands-on courses cost more than the exam itself. Treat any provider's course length or prerequisites as specific to that provider, not as a universal FEEC eligibility rule. For the eligibility side of the question, see FEEC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Remote Proctoring and Delivery Charges
ETA also offers ExamRoom.AI remote knowledge testing. Where that delivery route is arranged, ETA's two-hour remote-proctoring charge is $16. Three cautions apply:
- Remote testing covers only the knowledge exam. The required practical training and assessment still has to be handled through an ETA-approved school.
- The $16 is not a substitute for the exam fee. It is an additional charge tied to the delivery method, not a replacement for the $130.
- Remote rules need confirmation. ETA's general onsite FAQ permits scratch paper and non-programmable or scientific calculators, prohibits personal electronic devices, and requires used scratch paper to be surrendered. Photo ID and proctoring are required. Verify what applies to your remote session before exam day.
If you are choosing between a test site and remote delivery, ETA's test-site locator and your training provider's arrangements will determine which options are realistic. Scheduling logistics are covered in FEEC Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Retake Policy and Failure Risk
ETA states that one free retake is available within one year of the first session, under its stated conditions. That is a meaningful safety net on the knowledge side, but read it narrowly:
- It does not establish free repeat tuition for the hands-on course.
- It does not establish that remote-proctoring charges are waived on the retake.
- The one-year window is a deadline, so a failed attempt followed by months of delay can cost you the free retake.
The pass rate for FEEC is not publicly disclosed in the reviewed official sources, so any seller claiming a specific success percentage is not citing a real cohort figure. For a frank look at what is and is not known, see FEEC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows and How Hard Is the FEEC Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
Key Takeaway
Treat the free retake as insurance, not a plan. Schedule your first attempt only after you can consistently clear 75% on realistic practice material, and note the one-year clock the moment you sit the first session.
Renewal Costs and the Source Conflict
Certification cost does not end at exam day. The FEEC-specific maintenance section on ETA's site describes two paths:
- People performing the certified job at least 60% of a full-time work year renew annually using an employer proficiency affidavit.
- Everyone else must recertify, and failure of the recertification practical requires training again.
The linked renewal form lists a $50 renewal fee, though its precise revision date is uncertain. Here is the unresolved problem: ETA's current web text says all certifications are good for two years, while the linked renewal form says certification for workers below the 60% threshold expires after one year. These two statements conflict, and this article does not resolve it for you.
No FEEC-specific numeric continuing-education hour requirement was verified, so do not import a general CE-hour rule from another ETA credential into your planning. A fuller view of how the credential fits a career is in Is the FEEC Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.
Budgeting Time and Money Across the Three Domains
Because the exam blueprint is not published with weights, the three areas below come from the provider-defined teaching groups, not an official ETA weighting. They are still the most useful way to decide where your hands-on training dollars and study hours should go. For a deeper breakdown, see FEEC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 3 Content Areas.
Domain 1: Aviation Fiber Optic Theory and Fundamentals
Conceptual groundwork that you can largely cover with low-cost reading before paying for hands-on lab time.
- Fiber behavior and aviation-specific considerations
- Terminology that the later domains assume you already know
- Context from the ARINC 805-5 report that ETA's current page cites as the main basis
Domain 2: Inspection and Cleaning on Connectors and Termini
The most equipment-dependent area, and therefore the one that justifies paying for supervised lab access.
- Single-ferrule connectors and termini
- Multi-terminus connectors, including D38999, ARINC 600, and EPX
- Use of the fiber optic video inspection probe (FOVIS)
Domain 3: Testing Theory and Practices
Measurement-focused material where light sources, power meters, and a visual fault locator come into play.
- Link loss testing
- Troubleshooting procedures and best practices
- Interpreting results rather than just taking readings
One short scheduling idea tied to cost: front-load Domain 1 on inexpensive self-study before your course starts, so your paid lab hours go toward Domains 2 and 3, where equipment access matters most. Then spend your final study stretch on Domain 3 troubleshooting scenarios, which reward reasoning over memorization. The full approach is laid out in FEEC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and a condensed reference lives in the FEEC Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts.
Sample Budget Worksheet
Use this table as a planning frame. Only the figures marked as published come from ETA sources; everything else is yours to fill in from provider quotes.
| Cost Item | Amount | Status |
|---|---|---|
| ETA examination fee | US$130 | Published by ETA |
| Member / non-member difference | None listed | Not published |
| Required hands-on training course | Provider-set | Unverified; get a quote |
| Remote proctoring (two-hour) | $16 | Published, where arranged |
| First retake | Free, within one year | Under ETA's stated conditions |
| Renewal fee (per linked form) | $50 | Form revision date uncertain |
| Practice and study materials | Varies | Your choice |
Add the exam fee, your provider's course quote, and any delivery charge to get a defensible first-year total. Add the renewal line separately, and revisit it after confirming the term with ETA.
Who Pays: Employer Funding and Hiring Context
FEEC is an aerospace-oriented credential, built around the inspection, cleaning, and testing of fiber optic connectors and links in aircraft environments. That context matters for cost because the people most likely to need it are technicians whose employers have a direct interest in qualified inspection and test personnel. The renewal path itself leans on employer involvement: the proficiency affidavit for people doing the certified job at least 60% of a full-time work year comes from an employer.
Practical steps for shifting cost off your own wallet:
- Ask your supervisor or training department whether fiber optic inspection and test qualifications are funded or reimbursed.
- Present the provider course quote and the $130 fee together so the request is one clear number.
- Clarify in advance whether reimbursement depends on passing, and who covers renewal.
For the earnings and job-market side of the equation, which affects how quickly the credential pays for itself, see FEEC Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and FEEC Jobs. If you are comparing training providers and formats, FEEC Training covers that decision.
When you are ready to test your readiness before spending on an exam attempt, the FEEC practice tests are a low-cost way to find weak spots in the three domains first, and you can explore more question sets on the main practice test site.
Frequently Asked Questions
ETA International lists a US$130 examination fee. No member or non-member price difference is published in the current FEEC exam information. This covers the knowledge exam only, not the required hands-on training.
No. The required ETA-approved hands-on training course is a separate, provider-set amount unless the provider expressly bundles it. Remote proctoring, where arranged, adds a $16 two-hour charge.
ETA states one free retake is available within one year of the first session, under its stated conditions. That does not establish free repeat tuition or waived remote-proctoring charges.
The linked ETA renewal form lists a $50 fee, though its revision date is uncertain. ETA's pages also conflict on whether certification lasts two years or one year for workers below the 60% threshold, so confirm with ETA directly.
Through ETA Certification Administrators at approved sites, using Trapeza online testing or paper and pencil, or via ETA's ExamRoom.AI remote option. It is not offered through Pearson VUE, PSI, or Prometric.