FEEC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

FEEC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify

TL;DR
  • FEEC (Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning) is issued by ETA International; no degree or employment-hour threshold was verified as an entry...
  • An ETA-approved hands-on training course is the one firm prerequisite, and it is priced separately from the US$130 exam fee.
  • The knowledge exam has 25 questions, a 2-hour limit, and a 75% passing score; the hands-on competency must also be satisfied.
  • FEEC is stand-alone: an Associate CET is not a universal prerequisite.

What FEEC Actually Is (and Is Not)

Before sorting out requirements, pin down the credential. FEEC here means Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning, an aerospace fiber optics certification governed by ETA International. It is not a Pearson VUE, PSI or Prometric exam, and the acronym should not be confused with other credentials that happen to share the same letters. If you are still orienting yourself, our explainers on what FEEC is and what FEEC stands for cover the naming in more depth.

Technically, ETA bases the certification mainly on ARINC Report 805-5, with aspects of 803-3, 806-7.2.1 and 807-4 (ETA's own notation). SAE's landing page dates ARINC 805-5 to January 28, 2019. ARINC and SAE standards supply the technical context, but ETA remains the certifying body, and ETA is the entity whose requirements determine whether you qualify.

The Eligibility Picture: What ETA Does and Does Not Require

The most common question about FEEC is whether you need a degree, a prior certification or years on the job. Based on the issuer sources reviewed, the answer is refreshingly simple, with some honest gaps.

Possible RequirementStatus for FEEC
ETA-approved hands-on training courseRequired
Associate CET (or any other ETA credential)Not a universal prerequisite; FEEC is stand-alone
College degreeNo mandatory degree verified
Minimum employment hoursNo threshold verified for initial eligibility
Reference letters or reference countNone verified
Fixed training-hour totalNone verified from the issuer
Photo ID and proctoringRequired at testing
Read this carefully: "Not verified" is not the same as "does not exist." The public ETA pages reviewed do not state a degree, experience or reference requirement for FEEC. Before you spend money, confirm current terms directly with ETA or your chosen training provider, because requirements can change and a provider may impose its own enrollment conditions.

One number you will see in ETA materials, a 60% work threshold, concerns certification maintenance, not admission. Do not mistake it for an eligibility test. We return to it in the renewal section below.

The Hands-On Training Requirement

The practical heart of FEEC qualification is the required ETA-approved hands-on training course. This is what separates FEEC from a knowledge-only exam: you cannot simply sit a test from a textbook. The skills component has to be handled through an ETA-approved school, even if you choose remote proctoring for the knowledge portion.

Choosing a Provider

ETA lists outside training providers and names KITCO specifically for FEEC training. KITCO states that successful completion of its knowledge competencies and hands-on skillsets qualifies students to take the FEEC examination. Its course is titled Flight Line Aviation Certified Inspection, Cleaning and Test Course Overview (course 6000-1490). Treat this as an issuer-listed external provider, not an ETA-authored syllabus. Course-specific prerequisites or duration set by a provider do not establish universal FEEC eligibility or exam timing.

What the Provider Equipment Tells You

The KITCO course description lists the tools students work with, which is a useful preview of what "hands-on competency" looks like:

  • Optical light source and power meters
  • Visual fault locator (VFL)
  • Video inspection probes
  • 400x and 200x microscopes

If you have never handled an endface under magnification, expect the training course to be where you build that skill. Our FEEC training overview goes deeper on what to look for in a program.

Practical-assessment caveat: No exact FEEC practical-assessment timer and no issuer-mandated course-hour total was verified. Do not rely on any marketing claim of a fixed number of hours as an official ETA rule. Ask the provider what its hands-on assessment involves and how it is scored.

Exam Mechanics You Qualify For

Meeting the training requirement leads to the knowledge examination. Here is what is published:

ElementDetail
Governing bodyETA International
Questions25 (per the official exam-information page)
Time limit2 hours for the knowledge exam
Passing score75% on the knowledge exam, plus satisfied hands-on competency
DeliveryApproved test sites via Trapeza online testing or paper/pencil; ETA also offers ExamRoom.AI remote knowledge testing
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed in reviewed official sources

Some caution on details. The scored versus unscored allocation of the 25 questions is not publicly stated, so do not assume a minimum number of correct answers. A third-party claim of 75 questions circulates in some marketplaces; it is not an ETA figure and is not used here. Likewise, the precise item format (for example, single-answer multiple choice) is not established by the public issuer sources, so be skeptical of any site presenting question formatting as an official specification.

For deeper treatment, see our guides on the FEEC passing score, what the data shows on pass rate and how hard the exam is.

What Qualified Candidates Must Know: Three Domains

No public ETA-authored domain list or weighted blueprint was verified, so the three areas below are the working preparation domains used for this site's practice content. The KITCO teaching groups are provider preparation topics, not official exam domains, and any practice allocation is editorial rather than an official weighting. Our complete guide to all three content areas expands each one.

Domain 1: Aviation Fiber Optic Theory and Fundamentals

The conceptual grounding for everything else: how light moves through aerospace fiber and what degrades it.

  • Fiber construction and light propagation in aviation applications
  • Loss mechanisms that matter in aircraft cabling
  • Terminology and conventions drawn from the ARINC 805 family of reports

Domain 2: Inspection and Cleaning Practices

The namesake of the credential. This is where hands-on skill meets knowledge.

  • Inspection and cleaning of single ferrule connectors and termini
  • Multi-terminus connectors, including D38999, ARINC 600 and EPX connectors
  • Use of the fiber optic video inspection probe (FOVIS)
  • Recognizing contamination and defects on an endface under magnification

Domain 3: Testing Theory and Practices

Turning measurements into decisions.

  • Link loss testing methods and setup
  • Troubleshooting procedures and best practices
  • Interpreting light source and power meter results against expectations

Key Takeaway

Because the official domain count and weights are unverified, do not budget study time purely by percentage claims you find online. Cover all three areas, and give extra attention to Domain 2, since endface inspection and cleaning is what the credential is named for.

Registration Logistics and Fee Structure

Qualifying costs more than the exam fee alone, so separate the pieces:

  • Examination fee: US$130. No member versus non-member differential is published in the current FEEC exam box.
  • Remote proctoring: ETA's two-hour remote-proctoring charge is $16 where that delivery route is arranged.
  • Required provider training: a separate amount that was not verified, unless the provider expressly bundles it with the exam.

Do not present $130 as an all-in price. The training course is a required step and its cost varies by provider. Our complete FEEC pricing breakdown walks through budgeting, and our guide to exam dates and scheduling explains how to line up a test slot after training. ETA also maintains a test-site finder at etai.org/test_sites.html for approved locations.

Test-Day Conditions and Retake Rights

Qualification includes meeting the testing conditions. ETA requires photo ID and proctoring. Its general onsite FAQ permits scratch paper and non-programmable or scientific calculators, prohibits personal electronic devices, and requires used scratch paper to be surrendered. If you test remotely, confirm remote-specific permissions through the delivery arrangement rather than assuming the onsite rules apply. No FEEC-specific open-book or adaptive-testing status was verified, so plan on a conventional closed-reference exam.

If the first attempt does not go your way, one free retake is available within one year of the first session under ETA's stated conditions. This is narrower than it sounds: it does not establish free repeat tuition or waived remote-proctoring charges. ETA also publishes a Special Accommodations page for candidates who need adjustments.

Keeping the Credential After You Qualify

Qualifying is not the finish line, and the renewal rules contain an honest ambiguity worth understanding.

  • The current web text describes a two-year certification term.
  • The FEEC-specific maintenance section says people performing the certified job for at least 60% of a full-time work year renew annually using an employer proficiency affidavit; others must recertify, and failure of the recertification practical requires training again.
  • The linked renewal form lists a $50 renewal fee, but its revision date is uncertain, and it says certification for workers below the 60% threshold expires after one year, which conflicts with the web text saying all certifications are good for two years.
Unresolved source conflict: The issuer's own materials disagree on whether lower-activity workers have one year or two. Until ETA clarifies, confirm your exact renewal timeline and fee with ETA before relying on either figure. No FEEC-specific numeric continuing-education hour requirement was verified, so do not import the general 24-hour, four-year rule from other credentials.

A Qualification Plan Built Around the Domains

Because the hands-on course comes first, sequence your preparation around it rather than studying in a vacuum. This is one possible arrangement, not an official schedule. For fuller guidance see the FEEC study guide.

Before Training

Domain 1 groundwork

  • Review fiber fundamentals and loss concepts so lab time is not spent on vocabulary
  • Learn the ARINC 805-5 context at a high level
During Training

Domain 2 skills

  • Practice with the video inspection probe and microscope until defect recognition is fast
  • Handle single-ferrule and multi-terminus connector types, noting D38999, ARINC 600 and EPX differences
After Training

Domain 3 and exam readiness

  • Rework link loss and troubleshooting scenarios while the lab is fresh
  • Run timed practice at the main practice test site to rehearse the 2-hour, 25-question format

Scheduling Domain 2 during the course makes sense because that is when you have physical access to the equipment. Domain 3 benefits from coming last, since test-and-troubleshoot reasoning builds on what you inspected and cleaned. A one-page review of must-know facts is a handy final pass, and you can try practice questions here to check where you stand.

Who Needs This Credential

FEEC targets technicians who inspect, clean and test fiber optic links on aircraft. Typical environments include aircraft maintenance and flight line operations, avionics installation and repair, and organizations that follow ARINC fiber optic test procedures. ETA's 2019 announcement framed the certification as advancing aerospace fiber optics careers. Specific employer lists and pay figures are not published by the issuer, so we avoid guessing; our pages on FEEC jobs, earnings analysis and whether the certification is worth it discuss the career side qualitatively.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need a degree or prior certification to qualify for FEEC?

No mandatory degree or employment-hour threshold was verified as an initial eligibility requirement, and an Associate CET is not a universal prerequisite because FEEC is stand-alone. The firm requirement is an ETA-approved hands-on training course. Confirm current terms with ETA before enrolling.

How much does it cost to qualify and test?

The examination fee is US$130, with no published member discount. ETA's two-hour remote-proctoring charge is $16 where that route is arranged. The required provider training is a separate cost that was not verified, so $130 is not an all-in figure.

What score do I need, and how long is the exam?

The knowledge exam has 25 questions, a 2-hour limit and a 75% passing score. The required hands-on competency must also be satisfied. The scored versus unscored breakdown is not public, so no minimum correct-answer count should be assumed.

Can I retake the exam if I fail?

ETA states one free retake within one year of the first session, under its stated conditions. This does not cover repeat tuition or waive remote-proctoring charges, so check the conditions that apply to your situation.

How long does the certification last?

The current web text gives a two-year term, but the renewal form for workers under the 60% work threshold suggests one year, and the form's date is uncertain. Treat this as an unresolved issuer-source conflict and verify with ETA. The renewal form lists a $50 fee.

Ready to pass your FEEC exam?

Put this into practice with free FEEC questions across every exam domain.