- Which FEEC This Sheet Covers
- The Numbers at a Glance
- How You Actually Get to the Exam
- The Three Domains in One Pass
- Endface Inspection and Cleaning: The Facts to Memorize
- Link Loss Testing Facts
- Test-Day Rules and Retake Rule
- Validity and Renewal: Know What Is Unresolved
- What Nobody Publishes (and How to Plan Around It)
- A Domain-Ordered Review Sequence
- Frequently Asked Questions
- FEEC here means Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning, certified by ETA International, with ARINC Report 805-5 as the main basis.
- Knowledge exam: 25 questions, 2 hours, 75% to pass; the $130 exam fee excludes required hands-on training.
- Three domains: aviation fiber theory, inspection and cleaning (including FOVIS), and link loss testing with troubleshooting.
- One free retake is available within one year of the first session, under ETA's stated conditions.
Which FEEC This Sheet Covers
The acronym FEEC is shared by several unrelated credentials, so one line of clarity comes first. This cheat sheet is about Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning (FEEC), the aerospace fiber optic certification issued by ETA International. ARINC and SAE standards supply the technical context, but ETA is the certifying body. Nothing below applies to any other credential that happens to use the same four letters.
If you are still orienting yourself, the explainers at What Is FEEC? and What Does FEEC Stand For? cover the naming and purpose in more depth. This page is the compressed reference: the facts worth having in front of you the week before you sit down for the exam.
The Numbers at a Glance
Everything in this table comes from ETA's published exam information. Where ETA does not publish a figure, the table says so instead of guessing.
| Item | What Is Published |
|---|---|
| Certifying body | ETA International |
| Exam fee | US$130 (no member/non-member differential published in the current FEEC exam box) |
| Knowledge exam length | 25 questions on the official exam-information page |
| Time allowed | 2 hours |
| Passing score | 75% on the knowledge exam; hands-on competency must also be satisfied |
| Remote proctoring charge | $16 for the two-hour ExamRoom.AI session, where that route is arranged |
| Certification term | Two years per current web text (see the renewal conflict below) |
| Renewal form fee | $50 on the linked renewal form (revision date uncertain) |
| Scored vs. unscored items | Not publicly stated |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Domain weights | Not publicly verified |
How You Actually Get to the Exam
FEEC is not a walk-in, book-a-seat credential. It pairs a proctored knowledge exam with a required hands-on training and skills component, and the practical side has to be handled through an ETA-approved school. This is the single most important structural fact on the sheet.
Money: What $130 Does and Does Not Cover
- $130 is the examination fee.
- Required provider training is a separate amount unless the provider expressly bundles it. Do not present $130 as an all-in price.
- The $16 two-hour remote-proctoring charge applies where the ExamRoom.AI remote route is arranged. Remote knowledge testing does not replace the required practical training through an approved school.
For the full cost picture, including how to budget for training, read FEEC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Delivery and Testing Provider
The knowledge exam is administered by ETA Certification Administrators at approved sites, using Trapeza online testing or paper and pencil. ETA also offers remote knowledge testing through ExamRoom.AI. This is not a Pearson VUE, PSI or Prometric exam, so do not search those platforms for a FEEC seat. Site lookup runs through ETA's own test-site tool, and timing questions are covered in FEEC Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Eligibility
An ETA-approved hands-on training course is required. FEEC is stand-alone, meaning an Associate CET is not a universal prerequisite. No mandatory degree, employment-hour threshold, reference count or fixed training-hour total was verified as an initial exam eligibility requirement. Details live in FEEC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
The Three Domains in One Pass
ETA does not publish a weighted blueprint for FEEC. The three groupings below are the topic areas this prep site uses, built around ETA-listed training provider KITCO's course scope (course 6000-1490, Flight Line Aviation Certified Inspection, Cleaning and Test). They are preparation topics, not official ETA exam domains, and no percentage weighting is implied. For a deeper tour, see FEEC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 3 Content Areas.
Domain 1: Aviation Fiber Optic Theory and Fundamentals
The vocabulary and physics that every later task depends on.
- How aerospace fiber systems differ from enterprise cabling
- Connector and terminus basics you will meet on the aircraft
- Why contamination and geometry matter to optical performance
Domain 2: Inspection and Cleaning Practices
The hands-on core of the credential: single ferrule connectors and termini, multi-terminus connectors (D38999, ARINC 600 and EPX), and use of the fiber optic video inspection probe (FOVIS).
- Inspect first, clean only as needed, re-inspect
- Different handling for single-ferrule versus multi-terminus interfaces
- Microscope and video probe interpretation
Domain 3: Testing Theory and Practices
Link loss testing, troubleshooting procedures and best practices.
- Light source and power meter measurement logic
- Visual fault locator use
- A structured approach to isolating a bad link
Endface Inspection and Cleaning: The Facts to Memorize
Domain 2 is where the credential gets its name, and it is the domain where a shaky candidate is easiest to spot. KITCO's course equipment list names the tools you should be fluent with: video inspection probes and 400x / 200x microscopes. Know what each shows you and when you would reach for one instead of the other.
The Connector Families to Recognize
- Single ferrule connectors and termini: the simplest endface case, where one fiber meets one fiber.
- D38999: a multi-terminus circular connector family common in aerospace harnesses.
- ARINC 600: a multi-terminus rack and enclosure interface.
- EPX: another multi-terminus connector style named in the domain scope.
The practical difference is access. A multi-terminus connector puts many endfaces behind a shell or insert, which changes how you inspect, how you clean, and how you avoid transferring contamination between termini. Expect to reason about method, not just recite terminology.
The Habit the Exam Rewards
The workflow that runs through every cleaning procedure is the same: inspect, clean if needed, re-inspect. Never assume a connector is clean because it looks fine to the naked eye, and never assume a cleaning pass worked until you have looked again through the probe or microscope. A candidate who can explain why that loop exists, in terms of loss, reflection and damage to the endface, is thinking the way the credential intends.
Link Loss Testing Facts
The third domain shifts from looking at endfaces to measuring what they do. KITCO's equipment list for this area is the optical light source and power meter pair plus the visual fault locator. Be able to explain, in plain language:
- What a light source and power meter measure together, and why a reference is set before a loss reading means anything.
- What a visual fault locator is good at finding, and what it cannot tell you.
- How a poor endface shows up as excess loss, which is why Domains 2 and 3 are connected rather than separate silos.
- A sensible troubleshooting order when a link fails: inspect connectors before you replace anything.
The technical context sits in ARINC Report 805-5, which the current ETA page cites as the main basis for FEEC, with aspects of 803-3, 806-7.2.1 and 807-4 preserved in ETA's own notation. SAE's landing page dates 805-5 to January 28, 2019. The 2019 ETA announcement's 807-3 reference is historical and does not replace the live page's 807-4.
Test-Day Rules and Retake Rule
- Photo ID and proctoring are required.
- ETA's general onsite FAQ permits scratch paper and non-programmable or scientific calculators, prohibits personal electronic devices, and requires used scratch paper to be surrendered.
- Confirm remote-specific permissions through whichever delivery arrangement you use; the onsite rules are not a guarantee for remote sessions.
- One free retake is available within one year of the first session under ETA's stated conditions. That does not establish free repeat tuition or waived remote charges.
- No FEEC-specific open-book or adaptive-testing status was verified, so do not assume either.
- The precise knowledge-item format (for example, single-answer multiple choice) is not established in the public issuer sources. Treat marketplace descriptions of question style as unofficial.
Accommodation requests go through ETA's special accommodations process.
Validity and Renewal: Know What Is Unresolved
This is the one area where the issuer's own materials do not line up cleanly, and a good cheat sheet says so plainly.
- The current web text says the certification term is two years.
- The FEEC maintenance section says people performing the certified job for at least 60% of a full-time work year renew annually using an employer proficiency affidavit; others must recertify, and failure of the recertification practical requires training again.
- The linked renewal form says below-60% workers' certification expires after one year, while the web text says all certifications are good for two years.
- The form lists a $50 renewal fee, but its revision date is uncertain.
- No FEEC-specific numeric continuing-education hour requirement was verified. Do not borrow a general ETA hours-over-years rule.
Key Takeaway
Before you plan your renewal calendar, confirm the current term and fee directly with ETA. The public sources conflict, and the 60% work threshold concerns maintenance, not admission to the exam.
What Nobody Publishes (and How to Plan Around It)
Several numbers that candidates ask about are simply not in ETA's reviewed public sources:
- Pass rate. Not publicly disclosed. A seller's success percentage is not a FEEC cohort pass rate. See FEEC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows for how to read the claims you encounter.
- Domain weights and an issuer topic outline. ETA's "Competencies" link leads to a generic SAE ARINC catalogue, and the SAE Mobilus page for 805-5 offers metadata and a broad scope, not a full FEEC syllabus. The full paid standard was not retrieved.
- Exact practical-assessment timer and a mandated course-hour total.
- Current exam-form year.
Because the blueprint is unpublished, the safest preparation is broad and hands-on rather than weighted toward one guessed topic. Difficulty is therefore best judged by your comfort with the physical tasks as much as the written ones; How Hard Is the FEEC Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 covers that angle.
A Domain-Ordered Review Sequence
If you want a schedule, order it by dependency rather than by taste. Theory feeds inspection, and inspection feeds testing. Spend the most time on the domain your hands-on course made you least comfortable with.
Domain 1: Theory and Fundamentals
- Rebuild the vocabulary of aerospace fiber systems and connectors
- Skim the scope of ARINC 805-5 so the terminology is familiar
Domain 2: Inspection and Cleaning
- Walk through inspect, clean, re-inspect for single ferrule and multi-terminus cases
- Review D38999, ARINC 600 and EPX handling differences
- Revisit probe versus microscope decisions
Domain 3: Testing and Troubleshooting
- Rehearse link loss measurement logic and reference setting
- Practice a connector-first troubleshooting order
- Finish with timed practice at the 25-question, 2-hour pace
A longer treatment of pacing and resources is in the FEEC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and you can pressure-test your recall with the FEEC practice test once the sequence above feels familiar.
Why Certification Matters to Employers
The credential is aimed at people who inspect, clean and test fiber on aircraft, which means flight line, maintenance and installation roles in aviation fiber work. If you are weighing the career side, FEEC Jobs, the FEEC Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and Is the FEEC Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 cover that ground without relying on numbers this sheet cannot verify.
Frequently Asked Questions
ETA's official exam-information page lists 25 questions with a 2-hour time limit. How many are scored versus unscored is not publicly stated, and a third-party claim of 75 questions is not supported by the issuer.
The knowledge exam requires 75%. The required hands-on competency must also be satisfied. ETA does not publish a rounded minimum number of correct answers, so avoid relying on one. See FEEC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
No. $130 is the examination fee. Required ETA-approved hands-on training is a separate cost unless the provider bundles it, and remote proctoring adds a $16 charge where that route is arranged.
ETA offers one free retake within one year of the first session under its stated conditions. That does not mean free retraining or waived remote charges.
The current web text says two years, but the linked renewal form says certification for workers below the 60% work threshold expires after one year. The sources conflict, so confirm the current term with ETA before planning renewal.
That is the full sheet. The facts that matter most are the structure (knowledge exam plus required hands-on training), the numbers ETA actually publishes, and the three-domain flow from theory to endface work to link loss testing. Verify anything time-sensitive, especially fees and renewal terms, against ETA directly before you commit.