- The Short Answer: What FEEC Actually Is
- Who Runs It and Where the Standards Come From
- What the Exam Looks Like
- The Three Content Areas Candidates Prepare For
- Why the Hands-On Component Matters
- Fees, Registration and Test-Day Rules
- Keeping the Credential Current
- Who Needs FEEC and Where It Gets Used
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Domains
- Where to Go Next
- Frequently Asked Questions
- FEEC means Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning, an ETA International certification tied to aerospace fiber optic work.
- The knowledge exam has 25 questions, a 2-hour limit and a 75% passing score.
- An ETA-approved hands-on training course is required in addition to the knowledge exam.
- The examination fee is US$130; required training is a separate, provider-set cost.
The Short Answer: What FEEC Actually Is
FEEC stands for Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning. It is a certification issued by ETA International for technicians who inspect, clean and test fiber optic connections in aerospace systems. The "endface" in the name refers to the polished tip of a fiber connector or terminus, the tiny surface where light passes from one fiber to the next. When that surface is contaminated or damaged, signal loss follows, and in an aircraft the consequences of unreliable optical links go well beyond a slow network.
If you have seen the acronym elsewhere attached to other credentials, set those aside. On this site, FEEC refers only to the ETA aerospace fiber optics certification described here. For more on the naming itself, see What Does FEEC Stand For? and FEEC Meaning.
Who Runs It and Where the Standards Come From
ETA International is the certifying body. The technical context comes from aerospace standards published through ARINC and SAE, but those organizations supply the reference material rather than the credential. According to ETA's current exam information, FEEC is based mainly on ARINC Report 805-5, with aspects of 803-3, 806-7.2.1 and 807-4. SAE's catalog page dates ARINC 805-5 to January 28, 2019.
One caution worth flagging: ETA has not published a detailed public topic outline or weighted blueprint for FEEC. The domain names used throughout this article come from the training scope that ETA's listed external provider, KITCO, publishes for its aviation inspection, cleaning and test course. They describe how that preparation is organized, not an official exam weighting. Treat any percentage split you see elsewhere with skepticism.
What the Exam Looks Like
The knowledge portion is a proctored examination. Here is what the issuer's public information establishes:
| Element | What is published |
|---|---|
| Questions | 25 on the official exam-information page |
| Time allowed | 2 hours |
| Passing score | 75% on the knowledge exam |
| Hands-on component | Required separately; competency must also be satisfied |
| Delivery | ETA test sites (online via Trapeza, or paper/pencil), or ETA's ExamRoom.AI remote option |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
Several details are deliberately left open by the public sources. ETA does not state how many of the 25 questions are scored versus unscored, and the exact item format (for example, whether every question is single-answer multiple choice) is not specified for FEEC. For that reason, avoid calculating a "minimum number of correct answers"; the scoring mechanics are not published. For a closer look at the threshold, read FEEC Passing Score 2026, and for what is and is not known about results, FEEC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
The Three Content Areas Candidates Prepare For
Preparation for FEEC clusters into three teaching groups. They reflect how the provider-defined training scope is organized and give you a practical map of what to learn. For a deeper treatment, see FEEC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 3 Content Areas.
Domain 1: Aviation Fiber Optic Theory and Fundamentals
This is the conceptual foundation: how light travels through fiber, why aerospace installations differ from commercial cabling, and what the reference standards expect.
- Basic fiber optic principles and terminology as applied to aircraft systems
- Why contamination and geometry at the connector matter to signal performance
- The role of ARINC reports, particularly 805-5, as technical context
Domain 2: Inspection and Cleaning Practices
This is the most distinctive part of the credential and the one the name points to. It covers single ferrule connectors and termini, multi-terminus connectors (D38999, ARINC 600 and EPX), and use of the fiber optic video inspection probe (FOVIS).
- Inspecting endfaces before connecting, not after a problem appears
- Choosing appropriate cleaning methods for different connector styles
- Handling multi-terminus connectors, where many fibers share one housing and access is tight
- Operating a video inspection probe and interpreting what it shows
Domain 3: Testing Theory and Practices
Here the focus shifts from the connector to the whole link: measuring it, judging the result and finding faults.
- Link loss testing concepts and procedures
- Troubleshooting procedures and best practices when a link underperforms
- Familiarity with the equipment used in the provider's course: optical light source and power meters, visual fault locator, video inspection probes, and 400x / 200x microscopes
Because ETA's public materials do not give weights, resist the temptation to over-invest in whichever domain feels most comfortable. A candidate strong in theory but shaky on inspection technique will struggle with the hands-on requirement regardless of how the written items are distributed. For a sense of how demanding this mix is, see How Hard Is the FEEC Exam?
Why the Hands-On Component Matters
FEEC is not a purely written credential. An ETA-approved hands-on training course is required, and the practical competency must be satisfied alongside the 75% knowledge score. ETA names KITCO as an external provider for FEEC training, and KITCO states that completing its knowledge competencies and hands-on skillsets qualifies students to sit the examination.
Two practical points follow. First, the written exam alone will not earn the credential, so budget time and money for the training route. Second, ETA's remote knowledge testing option does not replace the practical piece: the required hands-on training and assessment must still be handled through an ETA-approved school.
No issuer-mandated course-hour total or exact practical-assessment timer was verified, so check the specific provider's schedule rather than assuming a duration. The prerequisites of any single course are also not the same as universal FEEC eligibility. For the eligibility picture, see FEEC Requirements 2026 and FEEC Training.
Key Takeaway
Treat the written test and the hands-on assessment as two gates of equal importance. Practice question banks such as the ones at our main practice test site help with the knowledge gate, but the skills gate is earned in front of a connector and a microscope.
Fees, Registration and Test-Day Rules
The published examination fee is US$130. ETA's current exam box shows no member versus non-member difference. That figure is the exam fee only: required provider training is a separate cost unless a provider expressly bundles it, so do not read $130 as an all-in price. Where remote proctoring is arranged through ExamRoom.AI, ETA lists a two-hour remote-proctoring charge of $16.
| Cost item | Amount | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Examination fee | US$130 | No member differential published |
| Remote proctoring (if used) | $16 | Two-hour charge where that route is arranged |
| Required hands-on training | Varies | Set by the provider; not a verified fixed amount |
| Free retake | Included | Within one year of the first session, under ETA's stated conditions |
The retake allowance is helpful but narrow. It does not establish free repeat tuition or waived remote charges. A full breakdown lives in FEEC Certification Cost 2026.
On test day
- Photo ID and proctoring are required.
- ETA's general onsite FAQ permits scratch paper and non-programmable or scientific calculators.
- Personal electronic devices are prohibited, and used scratch paper must be surrendered.
- Remote-specific permissions should be confirmed through your delivery arrangement.
This is not a verified Pearson VUE, PSI or Prometric exam; scheduling goes through ETA Certification Administrators and approved test sites. See FEEC Exam Dates 2026 for scheduling considerations.
Keeping the Credential Current
ETA's current web text states a certification term of two years. The FEEC-specific maintenance section adds a split based on workload: people performing the certified job for at least 60% of a full-time work year can renew annually using an employer proficiency affidavit, while others must recertify, and failing the recertification practical means training again.
No FEEC-specific numeric continuing-education requirement was verified, so do not assume a general CE-hour rule from other ETA credentials applies here.
Who Needs FEEC and Where It Gets Used
The credential is aimed at people who touch aircraft fiber optic links: technicians who install, inspect, clean or test them on the flight line, in maintenance facilities and in avionics shops. The provider course itself is titled around flight line aviation certified inspection, cleaning and test, which signals the intended audience. Typical employers include airlines and their maintenance organizations, repair stations, aircraft manufacturers and avionics integrators, though no hiring statistics are published and any job-market claim should be read as qualitative.
Whether the credential is worth the training outlay depends on your role and employer expectations. For perspective, see Is the FEEC Certification Worth It?, FEEC Jobs and FEEC Salary Guide 2026. No salary figures are quoted here because none are verified for this credential.
FEEC is a stand-alone credential. An Associate CET is not a universal prerequisite, and no mandatory degree, employment-hour threshold or reference count was verified as an initial eligibility requirement. If you want a plain-language overview of the certificate itself, see What Is FEEC Certification? and FEEC Certification.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Domains
Because the content splits into theory, inspection and cleaning, and testing, the order you study matters more than the method. One sensible arrangement:
Domain 1 first
- Build the vocabulary and the ARINC 805-5 context so later topics make sense
- Learn why endface condition drives link performance
Domain 2, the heavy lift
- Work through single ferrule connectors, then D38999, ARINC 600 and EPX multi-terminus connectors
- Pair reading with supervised time on a video inspection probe during your hands-on course
Domain 3 and review
- Study link loss testing and troubleshooting, tying results back to connector condition
- Run timed practice against the 2-hour, 25-question format
Domain 2 gets the longest block because it is both the most specialized and the one that overlaps with the practical assessment. For a fuller plan, see FEEC Study Guide 2026 and the condensed FEEC Cheat Sheet 2026. When you are ready to test your recall, try the practice questions on the FEEC Exam Prep practice test site.
Where to Go Next
If you are still orienting yourself, these companion pieces cover adjacent questions: What Is A FEEC? and What Does FEEC Mean? address the terminology, while the requirements and cost guides linked above help you plan the practical logistics. Always verify current details against ETA International's own pages, since fees, delivery options and renewal terms can change.
Frequently Asked Questions
On this site, FEEC stands for Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning, an ETA International certification for aerospace fiber optic inspection, cleaning and testing.
ETA's official exam-information page lists 25 questions with a 2-hour limit. The split between scored and unscored items is not publicly stated, and the passing score is 75%.
Yes. An ETA-approved hands-on training course is required, and the practical competency must be satisfied in addition to passing the knowledge exam. Remote knowledge testing does not replace it.
The examination fee is US$130, with no member differential published. Required provider training is a separate cost, and remote proctoring through ETA adds a $16 two-hour charge where that route is used.
ETA's current web text states a two-year term, with annual renewal by employer affidavit for those working the job at least 60% of a full-time year. The renewal form conflicts on the shorter case, so confirm directly with ETA.