FEEC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is FEEC Certification?

TL;DR
  • FEEC means Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning, an ETA International aerospace fiber optic certification built mainly on ARINC Report 805-5.
  • The knowledge exam has 25 questions, runs 2 hours, and requires 75%, plus a separate hands-on competency.
  • The exam fee is US$130; required ETA-approved training is a separate, unverified cost unless your provider bundles it.
  • Content centers on aviation fiber theory, connector inspection and cleaning, and link loss testing and troubleshooting.

What FEEC Certification Actually Is

FEEC stands for Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning. It is a practical, aerospace-oriented certification that verifies a technician can evaluate fiber optic links and, above all, inspect and clean connector endfaces correctly. If you have ever wondered whether a dirty ferrule can ground an aircraft system or hide a fault for weeks, you already understand why this credential exists.

The certification is issued by ETA International. ETA uses "FEEC" as its own abbreviation for the specific aerospace certification, while ARINC and SAE standards supply the technical backbone. That distinction matters: ARINC and SAE publish the procedures, but ETA is the body that certifies you. For quick definitions of the acronym itself, see our short explainers on what FEEC stands for and the meaning of FEEC.

Name check: This site covers only the ETA International Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning certification. Other credentials elsewhere in industry share the same four letters, but their exam details, fees, and bodies of knowledge do not apply here.

Who Certifies It and How Testing Works

ETA International governs the credential, and ETA Certification Administrators proctor the knowledge exam at approved test sites. Delivery is through Trapeza online testing or traditional paper and pencil. ETA also offers remote knowledge testing through ExamRoom.AI. This is not a Pearson VUE, PSI, or Prometric exam, so do not go looking for it in those scheduling portals.

Two points trip up first-time candidates:

  • Remote testing covers only the knowledge portion. The required practical training and assessment still have to be handled through an ETA-approved school.
  • Photo ID and proctoring are mandatory regardless of how you test.

ETA's general onsite rules allow scratch paper and non-programmable or scientific calculators, prohibit personal electronic devices, and require you to surrender used scratch paper. Remote sessions may differ, so confirm remote-specific permissions when you arrange delivery. To plan around scheduling, see FEEC exam dates, testing windows, and scheduling.

The Exam at a Glance

ItemWhat ETA Publishes
Certifying bodyETA International
Knowledge exam length25 questions
Time allowed2 hours
Passing score75% on the knowledge exam
Practical componentRequired hands-on competency through an ETA-approved school
Exam feeUS$130
Remote proctoring charge$16 for the two-hour session, where that route is arranged
Free retakeOne, within one year of the first session, under ETA's stated conditions
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed in the reviewed official sources

A few things are deliberately left unstated because ETA does not publish them. The split between scored and unscored questions is not public, so you cannot responsibly convert 75% into a "number of questions you can miss." The precise item format is also not established in the public sources, so do not assume every question is single-answer multiple choice. Treat any third-party claim of a longer exam as unreliable; the official exam-information page lists 25 questions. For deeper discussion of scoring, read what you need to pass on the FEEC and what the pass-rate data does and does not show.

The Three Content Areas Explained

ETA has not published a weighted exam blueprint, so no one can honestly tell you how many questions come from each area. What can be described are the three areas of preparation scope: aviation fiber theory, inspection and cleaning, and testing. These groupings reflect how an ETA-listed training provider teaches the material, and they map neatly onto the working life of a flight-line or shop technician. For a fuller walkthrough, see the complete guide to all 3 FEEC content areas.

Domain 1: Aviation Fiber Optic Theory and Fundamentals

This is the foundation. Before you can judge whether a connector is clean or a link is healthy, you need to know how light behaves in aircraft fiber and why aerospace installations differ from building cabling.

  • How light travels in optical fiber and what causes attenuation
  • Terminology for connectors, termini, ferrules, and endfaces
  • Why aircraft environments (vibration, temperature, contamination) raise the stakes for cleanliness
  • Where ARINC guidance fits into inspection and test practice

Domain 2: Inspection and Cleaning Practices

This is the heart of the credential, and the reason "Endface Cleaning" is in the name. The scope extends well beyond a single simple connector type.

  • Single ferrule connectors and termini
  • Multi-terminus connectors, including D38999, ARINC 600, and EPX connectors
  • Use of the fiber optic video inspection probe (FOVIS)
  • Recognizing contamination, scratches, and damage on an endface image
  • Choosing and applying cleaning methods in the right sequence, then re-inspecting

Domain 3: Testing Theory and Practices

Testing turns a clean connection into a verified one. This area covers how links are measured and what to do when the numbers are wrong.

  • Link loss testing theory and practice
  • Using an optical light source and power meter
  • Visual fault locator use for finding breaks and tight bends
  • Troubleshooting procedures and best practices
  • Interpreting results and deciding on a next step

The equipment named in the provider course gives a useful hint of what hands-on competence looks like: optical light source and power meters, a visual fault locator, video inspection probes, and 400x and 200x microscopes. If you cannot explain what each tool is for, and what a good versus bad reading looks like, you are not ready.

Provider scope, not an official blueprint: The three groupings above come from KITCO, an external training provider that ETA lists for FEEC preparation. They are not an ETA-authored syllabus, and no official domain weights have been verified. Use them to organize your study, not to predict question counts.

The ARINC Standards Behind the Credential

ETA's current FEEC page bases the certification mainly on ARINC Report 805-5, with aspects of 803-3, 806-7.2.1, and 807-4, using ETA's own notation. SAE's landing page for ARINC 805-5, titled Fiber Optic Test Procedures, dates that report to January 28, 2019. An older ETA announcement mentions 807-3, but that is historical; the live page's 807-4 is the reference to follow.

Two cautions apply. First, the full ARINC standards are paid documents, and ETA's "what's covered" link points to a generic SAE catalogue rather than a topic outline, so there is no free official syllabus to download. Second, do not substitute a different ARINC revision just because it is easier to find. When you choose study materials, check which report revisions they cite.

Why Hands-On Training Is Part of the Deal

FEEC is not a "read a book and sit the test" credential. An ETA-approved hands-on training course is required, and the practical competency must be satisfied alongside the 75% knowledge score. ETA names and links KITCO for FEEC training, and KITCO states that completing its knowledge competencies and hands-on skillsets qualifies students to take the exam.

Keep the limits in view. KITCO's course details do not establish universal eligibility rules or exam timing, and no exact FEEC practical-assessment timer or fixed course-hour total was verified. FEEC is also stand-alone: an Associate CET is not a universal prerequisite, and no mandatory degree, employment-hour threshold, or reference count was verified as an initial eligibility requirement. For the full eligibility picture, see FEEC requirements, prerequisites, and how to qualify and our overview of FEEC training.

Key Takeaway

Treat the practical course as the centerpiece of your preparation, not an obstacle before the "real" exam. Time spent actually inspecting and cleaning endfaces under a microscope or probe is time spent on the skills the credential exists to verify.

Fees, Retakes, and What Is Not Included

The published examination fee is US$130, and ETA's current exam information shows no member versus non-member price difference. Where remote proctoring is arranged, ETA lists a $16 charge for the two-hour session. These are the only verified dollar figures.

The cost most candidates underestimate is training. The required provider course is a separate amount that this article cannot state, because it varies by provider and depends on whether they bundle the exam fee. Do not read $130 as an all-in price.

On retakes, ETA states one free retake is available within one year of the first session under its stated conditions. That does not establish free repeat tuition or waived remote charges. For a fuller budgeting picture, see the FEEC certification cost breakdown.

Keeping the Certification Current

This is the one area where ETA's own materials disagree, and it is better to say so plainly than to paper over it.

  • The current web text says the certification term is two years.
  • The FEEC-specific maintenance section says people performing the certified job for at least 60% of a full-time work year renew annually using an employer proficiency affidavit; others must recertify, and failing the recertification practical means training again.
  • The linked renewal form lists a $50 renewal fee and says certification for below-60% workers expires after one year, which conflicts with the two-year language. The form's exact revision date is uncertain.

No FEEC-specific continuing-education hour requirement was verified, so do not assume the general multi-year CE rules from other ETA programs apply. Before you rely on any renewal timeline, confirm with ETA directly and keep a record of the answer.

Who Needs It and Where the Work Is

The credential fits people who touch aircraft fiber connections: flight-line and line maintenance technicians, avionics and wiring shop personnel, inspectors, and test technicians who troubleshoot optical links. Employers include airlines and MRO operations, avionics and aircraft manufacturers, and aerospace suppliers who handle fiber harnesses and connectors. Specific job titles and demand vary, and no public figures exist for hiring volume, so treat any claim of precise demand with caution. For openings and role types, see FEEC jobs, and for the career-value question, whether the FEEC certification is worth it and the FEEC salary guide.

Sequencing Your Preparation

One short sequencing idea tied to the three areas: learn theory first because everything else depends on its vocabulary, spend the most hands-on time on inspection and cleaning, and finish with testing so you can connect measurements back to contamination and connector condition.

Week 1

Theory and Terminology

  • Connector, terminus, and ferrule vocabulary
  • Attenuation causes and aircraft-specific concerns
Weeks 2-3

Inspection and Cleaning

  • Single ferrule connectors, then D38999, ARINC 600, and EPX
  • Reading FOVIS images and deciding clean, re-clean, or reject
Week 4

Testing and Troubleshooting

  • Link loss measurement with source and power meter
  • Visual fault locator use and fault isolation logic

For a broader plan, see the FEEC study guide, and to calibrate expectations, how hard the FEEC exam is. When you want to test your recall, try the FEEC practice tests, and keep the FEEC cheat sheet handy for a last-minute review. Any practice-bank allocation across the three areas is editorial rather than an official weighting.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does FEEC certification stand for?

FEEC stands for Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning. It is an ETA International aerospace fiber optic certification, based mainly on ARINC Report 805-5. See also our other explainer on what FEEC certification is.

How many questions are on the FEEC knowledge exam?

ETA's exam-information page lists 25 questions with a 2-hour limit and a 75% passing score. The scored versus unscored allocation and the exact question format are not publicly stated.

Do I have to take a hands-on course?

Yes. An ETA-approved hands-on training course is required, and the practical competency must be satisfied in addition to the knowledge exam. Remote knowledge testing does not replace that requirement.

What does the FEEC exam cost in total?

The published exam fee is US$130, with a $16 charge for ETA's two-hour remote proctoring where that route is used. Required provider training is a separate cost that is not verified here, so confirm it with your chosen school.

How long does the certification last?

ETA's current web text states two years, but its FEEC maintenance section and linked renewal form describe a different pattern for workers below the 60% threshold. That conflict is unresolved, so verify your renewal timeline with ETA before relying on it.

Ready to pass your FEEC exam?

Put this into practice with free FEEC questions across every exam domain.