- What "FEEC Training" Actually Means
- The Two-Part Structure: Knowledge Exam Plus Hands-On Skills
- Choosing an ETA-Approved Training Provider
- The Three Content Areas You Will Train On
- Endface Inspection and Cleaning: The Skills That Define the Course
- Link Loss Testing and Troubleshooting in Training
- Training Costs vs. Exam Fees: Keeping the Numbers Straight
- What to Expect on Exam Day
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Three Domains
- After Training: Certification Term and Renewal
- Frequently Asked Questions
- FEEC requires an ETA-approved hands-on training course; passing the knowledge exam alone does not complete certification.
- The exam fee is US$130, but required provider training is a separate cost unless the provider bundles it.
- The knowledge exam has 25 questions, a 2-hour limit, and a 75% passing standard.
- Training centers on video inspection, endface cleaning, and link loss testing for aerospace fiber optics.
What "FEEC Training" Actually Means
Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning (FEEC) is an aerospace fiber optic certification issued by ETA International. When people search for FEEC training, they are usually asking one of two questions: how do I prepare for the knowledge exam, and where do I complete the hands-on course that ETA requires? Both matter, and they are not the same thing.
FEEC is built around the technical context of the ARINC standards family. ETA's current page bases the certification mainly on ARINC Report 805-5 (fiber optic test procedures), with aspects of 803-3, 806-7.2.1 and 807-4. That context shapes what a good training course emphasizes: practical inspection, cleaning, and testing of aerospace fiber optic links, not generic networking theory. If you are still orienting yourself, the explainers on what FEEC is and what FEEC stands for cover the basics before you commit to a course.
The Two-Part Structure: Knowledge Exam Plus Hands-On Skills
FEEC certification has two components that must both be satisfied:
- A proctored knowledge examination. The official exam-information page lists 25 questions and a 2-hour time limit, with a passing score of 75%. The scored versus unscored allocation is not publicly stated, so do not assume a specific minimum number of correct answers. Public issuer sources also do not establish the precise item format, so treat any marketplace claim about question style as unofficial.
- A required hands-on competency. This is handled through an ETA-approved school. No exact FEEC practical-assessment timer or issuer-mandated course-hour total was verified, so ask your provider directly for the schedule and how skills are assessed.
FEEC is a stand-alone certification. An Associate CET is not a universal prerequisite, and no mandatory degree, employment-hour threshold, or reference count was verified as an initial eligibility requirement. For the full picture of who can sit, see our guide to FEEC requirements and eligibility.
| Component | What It Involves | Verified Details |
|---|---|---|
| Knowledge exam | Proctored test via ETA Certification Administrators | 25 questions, 2 hours, 75% to pass |
| Hands-on training | ETA-approved school course with practical skills | Required; exact hour total and practical timer not verified |
| Delivery options | Approved test site (Trapeza online or paper/pencil) or ExamRoom.AI remote knowledge testing | Practical portion still goes through an ETA-approved school |
Choosing an ETA-Approved Training Provider
ETA maintains a list of outside training providers, and for FEEC it specifically names and links KITCO. KITCO's course, listed as 6000-1490 (Flight Line Aviation Certified Inspection, Cleaning and Test Course Overview), states that successful completion of its knowledge competencies and hands-on skillsets qualifies students to take the FEEC examination.
Two cautions are worth keeping in mind when you evaluate any provider:
- A provider's topic list is not an official blueprint. ETA has not published an issuer-authored FEEC domain list with weights. KITCO's teaching groups are provider preparation topics, not official exam domains.
- Course specifics do not equal universal rules. A provider's stated prerequisites or duration apply to that course. They do not establish eligibility or timing for the FEEC exam itself.
Questions to ask any provider before enrolling: Is the course ETA-approved for FEEC? Is the exam fee included or billed separately? Which equipment will you actually handle? How is the hands-on competency assessed, and what happens if you need to repeat it? Is remote knowledge testing available, and at what charge?
The Three Content Areas You Will Train On
The study framework for this site organizes preparation into three areas. These reflect the provider-defined teaching groups, and they are a preparation structure rather than a verified ETA exam blueprint with percentage weights. For a deeper walk-through, see FEEC exam domains: a complete guide to all 3 content areas.
Domain 1: Aviation Fiber Optic Theory and Fundamentals
The conceptual foundation: how light moves through fiber, what causes loss, and why aerospace installations differ from enterprise cabling.
- Fiber construction and light propagation basics
- Sources of attenuation and why endface condition matters
- Aerospace-specific context from the ARINC standards family
Domain 2: Inspection and Cleaning Practices
The hands-on heart of the certification. This domain covers inspecting and cleaning single ferrule connectors and termini, multi-terminus connectors (D38999, ARINC 600, and EPX connectors), and using the fiber optic video inspection probe (FOVIS).
- Single-ferrule connector and terminus handling
- Multi-terminus connector inspection and cleaning
- Proper operation of the video inspection probe
Domain 3: Testing Theory and Practices
Measuring and diagnosing optical links, including link loss testing and troubleshooting procedures and best practices.
- Link loss testing methodology
- Troubleshooting procedures when a link fails to meet expectations
- Best practices for repeatable, defensible measurements
Endface Inspection and Cleaning: The Skills That Define the Course
The "EC" in FEEC is endface cleaning, and it is the skill that most distinguishes this certification from a general fiber awareness course. A contaminated or damaged endface is among the most common reasons an otherwise sound link underperforms, which is why inspection comes before cleaning and cleaning comes before connection.
Inspect, Clean, Re-inspect
The working discipline you will practice is a loop: inspect the endface, clean only if needed, then inspect again to confirm the result. The hands-on component rewards candidates who build this habit into muscle memory rather than treating cleaning as a one-off step.
Equipment You Should Expect to Handle
KITCO's published course overview lists the equipment used in its program:
- Optical light source and power meters
- Visual fault locator
- Video inspection probes
- 400x and 200x microscopes
Spend deliberate time on the video inspection probe and the microscopes. Being able to recognize what a clean endface looks like, and what residue, scratches, or damage look like, is the kind of practical judgment that cannot be learned from reading alone.
Connector Families in Aerospace
Domain 2 names D38999, ARINC 600, and EPX connectors specifically. Multi-terminus connectors present a different challenge from single-ferrule connectors: you may have many termini in one housing, each needing individual attention, and access can be constrained. Practice the workflow on each connector type your course provides rather than assuming skills transfer automatically.
Link Loss Testing and Troubleshooting in Training
Domain 3 shifts from keeping connectors clean to proving that a link performs. Link loss testing uses a calibrated light source and power meter to measure how much optical power is lost across a link, and it is the practical application of the theory in Domain 1.
Train for the reasoning, not just the button presses:
- Understand the method. Know why a reference is set before measuring and what can invalidate it.
- Connect results to endface condition. A high-loss reading often traces back to a connector problem, which links Domain 3 directly to Domain 2.
- Practice a troubleshooting sequence. When a result is out of expectation, you should be able to describe a logical order of checks, using the visual fault locator and the inspection probe where appropriate.
The ARINC 805-5 report is titled for fiber optic test procedures, and SAE's landing page dates that report to January 28, 2019. The full paid standard was not retrieved for this article, so rely on your approved course materials for procedure-level detail rather than assuming specific numeric limits.
Training Costs vs. Exam Fees: Keeping the Numbers Straight
The most common budgeting mistake is treating the exam fee as the total price. Here is what is actually verified:
| Item | Verified Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| FEEC examination fee | US$130 | No member/non-member differential published in the current FEEC exam information |
| Remote proctoring (ExamRoom.AI) | $16 for a two-hour session | Applies where remote delivery is arranged |
| Required provider training | Not verified | Separate cost unless the provider expressly bundles it |
| Renewal form fee | $50 listed on linked form | Revision date of the form is uncertain |
Do not present $130 as a complete all-in price; the provider's tuition is the larger unknown and varies by school. Get a written quote that states what is and is not included. Our FEEC certification cost breakdown goes line by line through the budgeting questions to ask.
What to Expect on Exam Day
ETA requires photo ID and proctoring. Testing is administered by ETA Certification Administrators at approved sites, using Trapeza online testing or paper/pencil. ETA also offers remote knowledge testing through ExamRoom.AI, though the hands-on training and assessment must still be completed through an ETA-approved school. To locate a site, use ETA's test-site finder; scheduling details are covered in FEEC exam dates and scheduling.
Under ETA's general onsite FAQ, scratch paper and non-programmable or scientific calculators are permitted, personal electronic devices are prohibited, and used scratch paper must be surrendered. Confirm remote-specific permissions with your delivery arrangement rather than assuming the onsite rules carry over.
On scoring, the passing mark is 75% on the knowledge exam, and the required hands-on competency must also be satisfied. The mechanics are explained in FEEC passing score: exactly what you need to pass. If your first attempt does not go well, one free retake is available within one year of the first session under ETA's stated conditions. That does not establish free repeat tuition or waived remote charges, so confirm those with your provider. A pass rate is not publicly disclosed in the reviewed official sources, and seller-advertised success percentages are not cohort pass rates; see what the pass rate data shows for how to interpret claims you encounter.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Three Domains
Because the course is hands-on and the exam is a short 25-question test, the sensible approach is to build practical fluency first and then reinforce vocabulary and procedures with knowledge practice. This is the one place for a scheduling template, tied directly to FEEC's structure. The broader approach is laid out in the FEEC study guide.
Theory and Fundamentals (Domain 1)
- Review fiber light propagation and loss mechanisms before touching equipment
- Read the ARINC context your provider supplies
Inspection and Cleaning (Domain 2)
- Give this the most time; it is the hands-on core
- Rehearse the inspect-clean-reinspect loop on every connector type available
- Drill identification of contamination and damage under the probe and microscopes
Testing and Troubleshooting (Domain 3)
- Practice setting references and recording link loss
- Walk through troubleshooting sequences aloud, tying results back to endface condition
Knowledge Review
- Take timed practice questions on the FEEC practice test site
- Revisit weak areas, then use the FEEC cheat sheet for a last pass
This sequencing is editorial guidance, not an official weighting. Because the official domain count and weights remain unverified, do not assume equal or proportional time across areas; follow your provider's emphasis.
Key Takeaway
Treat the hands-on skills as the foundation and the 25-question knowledge exam as the confirmation. Candidates who can clean, inspect, and test confidently usually find the written questions a natural extension of what they already do.
After Training: Certification Term and Renewal
The current certification term is two years. The FEEC-specific maintenance section says people performing the certified job for at least 60% of a full-time work year renew annually using an employer proficiency affidavit, while others must recertify, and failure of the recertification practical requires training again.
There is an unresolved conflict between ETA's own sources here. The linked renewal form says certification for workers below the 60% threshold expires after one year, while the current web text says all certifications are good for two years. Because that conflict is not settled in the public record, confirm your exact renewal path with ETA before your term ends. No FEEC-specific numeric continuing-education hour requirement was verified, so do not assume a general hour-count rule applies.
If you are weighing the investment against career outcomes, see whether the FEEC certification is worth it, and for the employer side, the overview of FEEC jobs. Candidates comparing credentials may also read the general FEEC certification overview.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. An ETA-approved hands-on training course is required. The knowledge exam alone does not complete certification, because the required hands-on competency must also be satisfied through an approved school.
The verified figure is the US$130 examination fee, plus $16 if you arrange ETA's two-hour remote proctoring. Provider tuition is a separate amount that was not verified and varies by school unless it is expressly bundled.
ETA names and links KITCO for FEEC training. KITCO states that completing its knowledge competencies and hands-on skillsets qualifies students to sit the FEEC exam. Its topics are provider preparation groups, not an official ETA exam blueprint.
The official exam-information page lists 25 questions with a 2-hour time limit and a 75% passing score. The scored versus unscored allocation is not publicly stated, so no minimum number of correct answers should be assumed.
ETA offers one free retake within one year of the first session under its stated conditions. This does not establish free repeat tuition or waived remote charges, so confirm those details with your training provider and ETA.
Whichever provider you choose, pair your hands-on course with realistic knowledge practice. The FEEC Exam Prep practice tests are built around the three content areas covered here, helping you confirm readiness before you sit the proctored exam. For the difficulty question many candidates ask first, see how hard the FEEC exam is.