FEEC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

FEEC Meaning

TL;DR
  • FEEC means Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning, an ETA International aerospace fiber optic credential.
  • The knowledge exam is 25 questions in 2 hours with a 75% passing score.
  • The exam fee is US$130; required ETA-approved hands-on training is a separate cost.
  • Content centers on aviation fiber theory, connector inspection and cleaning, and link loss testing.

What FEEC Spells Out

In this context, FEEC stands for Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning. It is a certification issued by ETA International, and it focuses on the inspection, cleaning and testing of fiber optic connections used in aviation. The acronym describes the two core activities: evaluating fiber optic links and connectors, and cleaning the endfaces where light actually crosses from one fiber to the next.

The acronym is shared by other, unrelated credentials in other industries, which is a common source of confusion when you search for it. Nothing about those other credentials applies here. If you want the short-form definitions, the site covers them in What Is FEEC? and What Does FEEC Stand For?. This article goes deeper into what the name implies about the work, the standards and the exam itself.

Identity check: ETA International is the certifying body. ARINC and SAE standards supply the technical context for the subject matter, but they do not issue the credential. If a source attributes FEEC to a different organization, it is describing something else.

What the Credential Is Built Around

The two words in the name map directly to hands-on skills. Evaluation covers examining and measuring: using video inspection probes and microscopes to look at connector endfaces, and using test equipment to characterize how a link performs. Endface cleaning covers the physical practice of removing contamination from the tiny glass surface at the end of a fiber, then re-inspecting to confirm the result.

Aircraft environments make this more demanding than a typical building cable run. Connectors may be single-ferrule types or multi-terminus connectors holding many fibers in one housing, and access on an airframe is rarely convenient. Contamination on a single endface can degrade a link, so the emphasis is on disciplined inspect-clean-inspect habits rather than on memorizing numbers.

Because FEEC pairs a knowledge exam with a required hands-on training component, it is not a purely academic credential. For a broader overview of how the certification fits together, see FEEC Certification and What Is FEEC Certification?.

The ARINC Standards Behind the Name

ETA's current FEEC page bases the credential mainly on ARINC Report 805-5, with aspects of 803-3, 806-7.2.1 and 807-4, using ETA's own notation. The SAE landing page for ARINC 805-5, titled Fiber Optic Test Procedures, dates that report to January 28, 2019. An older 2019 ETA announcement referenced 807-3, but that is historical; the live page's 807-4 is the reference to keep in mind.

A few cautions are worth stating plainly:

  • The full ARINC standards are paid documents, and ETA does not publish an issuer-authored topic outline or weighted blueprint for FEEC.
  • ETA's "Competencies" link points to a generic SAE ARINC catalogue rather than a FEEC syllabus.
  • No exact current exam-form year has been verified, so treat any claim of a specific exam version with skepticism.
Provider topics are not an official blueprint: The three content areas used on this site come from the teaching groups of KITCO, a training provider that ETA lists for FEEC. They are a reliable guide to what is taught, but they are not an official ETA domain list, and no official percentage weights have been published.

The Three Content Areas, Decoded

The provider-defined preparation topics fall into three groups. Each connects to a different part of the name. For a deeper breakdown, see FEEC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 3 Content Areas.

Domain 1: Aviation Fiber Optic Theory and Fundamentals

This is the conceptual base for everything else. It explains why aircraft fiber links behave the way they do and why tiny contamination matters.

  • How light travels through fiber and where loss comes from
  • Terminology you will meet in ARINC-based procedures
  • Why aviation connectors and handling practices differ from commercial cabling habits

Domain 2: Inspection and Cleaning Practices

This is the "endface cleaning" half of the name, and likely the most hands-on area. It covers single ferrule connectors and termini as well as multi-terminus connectors.

  • Single-ferrule connectors and termini
  • Multi-terminus connectors, specifically D38999, ARINC 600 and EPX styles
  • Use of the fiber optic video inspection probe (FOVIS)
  • The inspect, clean and re-inspect cycle, including judging what an endface image tells you

Provider course equipment for this area includes video inspection probes and 400x and 200x microscopes, which signals that candidates should be comfortable interpreting what they see, not just operating the tool.

Domain 3: Testing Theory and Practices

This is the "evaluation" half. It covers measuring links and diagnosing problems.

  • Link loss testing theory and practice
  • Troubleshooting procedures and best practices
  • Test equipment used in the provider course: optical light source and power meters and a visual fault locator

Key Takeaway

Think of the three areas as theory, hands-on endface work, and measurement. Candidates who understand why contamination causes loss tend to find the inspection and testing material far easier to reason through than those who memorize steps in isolation.

What the Exam Looks Like in Practice

The knowledge portion is a proctored exam. Here is what is verified from ETA's published information:

ItemWhat ETA Publishes
Knowledge exam length25 questions
Time allowed2 hours
Passing score75% on the knowledge exam
Hands-on componentRequired competency, handled through an ETA-approved school
IdentificationPhoto ID and proctoring required
RetakeOne free retake within one year of the first session, under ETA's stated conditions

Some details are deliberately left open because they are not public. ETA does not state how many questions are scored versus unscored, so do not assume a specific minimum number of correct answers. The precise item format, such as whether every question is single-answer multiple choice, is also not established by the public sources, so be wary of any marketplace listing that presents a format as official. Likewise, no FEEC-specific open-book or adaptive status was verified, and there is no publicly disclosed pass rate. For more on that last point, see FEEC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows, and for the scoring threshold see FEEC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Testing conditions

ETA's general onsite rules allow scratch paper and non-programmable or scientific calculators, prohibit personal electronic devices, and require used scratch paper to be surrendered. Remote-specific permissions should be confirmed through whatever delivery arrangement you use. Delivery options include approved test sites using Trapeza online testing or paper and pencil, and ETA also offers ExamRoom.AI for remote knowledge testing. Note that the required practical training and assessment must still be handled through an ETA-approved school even when the knowledge exam is taken remotely. This is not a Pearson VUE, PSI or Prometric exam.

Wondering how demanding all of this is in practice? How Hard Is the FEEC Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 weighs the factors, and you can check your readiness with the FEEC practice tests.

Fees and Registration Mechanics

The published examination fee is US$130, with no member versus non-member price difference shown in the current FEEC exam information. That figure is not the whole cost of getting certified. ETA requires hands-on training through an approved provider, and that training is a separate amount unless a provider expressly bundles it. Where remote proctoring is arranged, ETA lists a two-hour remote-proctoring charge of $16.

Do not budget around $130 alone: The exam fee covers the exam. Provider training, any remote-proctoring charge and travel to a test site are additional. A free retake does not mean free repeat tuition or waived remote charges. For a full breakdown, read FEEC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Eligibility, in plain terms

The one firm requirement is completion of an ETA-approved hands-on training course. FEEC is stand-alone, so an Associate CET is not a universal prerequisite. No mandatory degree, employment-hour threshold or reference count was verified as an initial eligibility requirement. KITCO, the provider ETA names, states that completing its knowledge competencies and hands-on skillsets qualifies students to sit the exam. Those are course-specific details, not universal rules. See FEEC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify for the full picture, and FEEC Training for provider options. Timing questions are addressed in FEEC Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Term, Renewal and an Unresolved Source Conflict

ETA's current web text describes a two-year certification term. The FEEC-specific maintenance section then draws a distinction based on how much of your work involves the certified job:

  • People performing the certified job for at least 60% of a full-time work year renew annually using an employer proficiency affidavit.
  • Others must recertify, and failing the recertification practical means training again.

Here is the catch: the linked renewal form says certification for below-60% workers expires after one year, while the current web text says all certifications are good for two years. These two statements do not fully agree, and the issuer's sources do not resolve it. The form also lists a $50 renewal fee, though its exact revision date is uncertain. No FEEC-specific numeric continuing-education hour requirement was verified, so do not borrow a general-purpose hour count from elsewhere.

Verify before you rely on it: If your renewal timing matters for an employer requirement or an audit, confirm the current term and fee directly with ETA instead of relying on a single web page or a downloaded form.

Who Actually Uses This Credential

FEEC suits people who touch aircraft fiber optic connections: maintenance technicians, avionics and wiring specialists, line and flight-line personnel, and inspectors who verify connector condition and link performance. The provider course KITCO describes is titled around flight line aviation inspection, cleaning and test, which points to who the training is aimed at. The ARINC standards the credential draws on are aerospace industry documents, so the context is aviation maintenance and installation rather than general-purpose network cabling.

Whether it pays off depends on your employer and role. No verified salary figures are available for this credential, so avoid any source quoting precise earnings. For a qualitative look at the career angle, see FEEC Jobs, FEEC Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and Is the FEEC Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.

Scheduling Preparation Around the Three Areas

Since the content areas build on each other, order matters more than volume. One practical sequence, assuming you have already arranged approved training:

Week 1

Theory first

  • Work through aviation fiber fundamentals and vocabulary
  • Connect each concept to why endface condition affects loss
Week 2

Inspection and cleaning

  • Review single-ferrule termini, then D38999, ARINC 600 and EPX multi-terminus connectors
  • Practice reading FOVIS images and the inspect, clean, re-inspect cycle
Week 3

Testing and troubleshooting

  • Study link loss testing with light source, power meter and visual fault locator
  • Walk through troubleshooting scenarios and finish with timed practice questions

Testing comes last because troubleshooting questions draw on both theory and inspection knowledge. For a fuller plan, see the FEEC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, the quick-reference FEEC Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts, and the practice question bank for timed repetition. Remember that any allocation of practice questions across the three areas is editorial, not an official exam weighting.

FAQ

What does FEEC mean?

FEEC stands for Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning, an aerospace fiber optic certification from ETA International. The acronym is shared by unrelated credentials elsewhere, none of which apply here. See also What Does FEEC Mean?.

How many questions are on the FEEC knowledge exam?

ETA's official exam information lists 25 questions with a 2-hour time allowance. The split between scored and unscored questions is not publicly stated, and a third-party claim of 75 questions is not supported by ETA's information.

What score do I need to pass?

The knowledge exam requires 75%, and the required hands-on competency must also be satisfied. Because scoring details are not published, do not assume an exact number of correct answers.

Is $130 the total cost?

No. The US$130 figure is the examination fee. Required ETA-approved hands-on training is separate unless bundled by the provider, and remote proctoring, where arranged, carries a $16 charge for two hours.

How long does the certification last?

ETA's web text describes a two-year term, but its FEEC-specific renewal form suggests below-60% workers may expire after one year. The sources conflict, so confirm your own term and the renewal fee directly with ETA.

Ready to pass your FEEC exam?

Put this into practice with free FEEC questions across every exam domain.