FEEC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

FEEC Certification

TL;DR
  • FEEC here means Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning, an ETA International aerospace fiber optic certification.
  • The knowledge exam has 25 questions, a 2-hour limit and a 75% passing score, plus a required hands-on component.
  • The exam fee is US$130; required ETA-approved training is a separate cost unless a provider bundles it.
  • Content spans fiber theory, endface inspection and cleaning (including D38999, ARINC 600 and EPX connectors), and link loss testing.

What the FEEC Credential Actually Is

FEEC stands for Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning. It is a specialized aerospace fiber optics certification, and it is easy to confuse with other credentials that happen to share the same four letters. Everything in this article refers only to the ETA International aerospace fiber optics certification. If you want the short definitional version first, see What Is FEEC? or What Does FEEC Stand For?.

The certification targets people who inspect, clean and test fiber optic connections on aircraft. That work matters because optical links in avionics are unforgiving of contamination. A speck of residue on a connector endface can degrade a link, and the inspection and cleaning discipline that prevents that is the core of what FEEC validates. The credential combines a proctored knowledge examination with a separate, required hands-on skills component, so passing a written test alone does not complete the process.

FEEC is a stand-alone certification. An Associate CET is not a universal prerequisite, and no mandatory degree, employment-hour threshold or reference count was verified as an initial exam eligibility requirement. The gating item is the ETA-approved hands-on training course. For the full eligibility picture, read FEEC Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Who Issues It and Which Standards Sit Behind It

ETA International is the certifying body. The ARINC and SAE standards that the exam draws from supply technical context, but they do not make SAE or ARINC the issuer. This distinction matters when you read third-party listings that blur the line between a standards publisher and a certification body.

The current ETA page bases FEEC mainly on ARINC Report 805-5, with aspects of 803-3, 806-7.2.1 and 807-4, and that notation is preserved exactly as ETA presents it. SAE's landing page dates ARINC 805-5 to January 28, 2019. A 2019 ETA announcement references 807-3, but that is historical; the live page's 807-4 is the reference to trust.

What is and is not published: ETA does not publish an issuer-authored FEEC topic outline or weighted blueprint in the sources reviewed, and the ARINC standard itself is a paid document. The three content areas used on this site come from the preparation scope of KITCO, an external training provider that ETA names and links for FEEC. They are provider teaching groups, not official exam domains, and no official domain count or percentage weighting has been verified.

That caveat shapes how you should study. Treat the three areas below as a sensible preparation map, not as a promise about how the exam distributes its 25 questions. For a deeper breakdown, see FEEC Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 3 Content Areas.

Exam Mechanics: Format, Time and Passing Score

ElementWhat the issuer sources support
Questions25 on the official exam-information page; scored versus unscored allocation is not publicly stated
Time limit2 hours for the knowledge exam
Passing score75% on the knowledge exam; hands-on competency must also be satisfied
Item formatNot established in public issuer sources; do not assume single-answer multiple choice
Practical assessment timerNo exact FEEC timer or mandated course-hour total verified
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed in reviewed official sources

Two cautions deserve emphasis. First, do not convert 75% into a fixed number of correct answers. Because the scoring and item allocation are not published, any "you need exactly N right" claim is guesswork. Second, ignore seller-quoted success percentages and any claim of a 75-question exam; neither is an issuer figure for FEEC. Our FEEC Passing Score guide and FEEC Pass Rate analysis cover what can and cannot be said responsibly.

Two hours for 25 questions is a generous pace on paper, which tells you the questions are likely to reward careful reading of scenarios and procedures rather than speed. If you want an honest read on difficulty, see How Hard Is the FEEC Exam?.

Fees, Registration and Delivery Routes

The examination fee is US$130, and no member versus non-member differential is published in the current FEEC exam information. That figure is not an all-in price. The required ETA-approved hands-on training is a separate cost unless your provider expressly bundles it, and the amount is unverified here.

Testing runs through ETA Certification Administrators at approved sites, using Trapeza online testing or paper and pencil. ETA also offers ExamRoom.AI remote knowledge testing. Where that route is arranged, ETA's two-hour remote-proctoring charge is $16. Even with remote testing, the practical training and assessment must still go through an ETA-approved school. This is not a Pearson VUE, PSI or Prometric exam, so do not look for it in those scheduling portals.

Budget realistically: The $130 exam fee is only one line item. Add the approved training course, any remote-proctoring charge ($16 where applicable), travel to a test site if you test onsite, and the renewal costs described below. Our FEEC Certification Cost breakdown walks through each component, and FEEC Exam Dates covers scheduling logistics.

The Hands-On Training Requirement

The distinguishing feature of this certification is that you cannot simply sit the knowledge test cold. An ETA-approved hands-on course is required. ETA names and links KITCO for FEEC training, and KITCO states that completing its knowledge competencies and hands-on skillsets qualifies students to take the FEEC examination.

KITCO's course, listed as 6000-1490 (Flight Line Aviation Certified Inspection, Cleaning and Test Course Overview), uses the equipment a working technician would recognize:

  • Optical light source and power meters
  • Visual fault locator
  • Video inspection probes
  • 400x and 200x microscopes

Be careful about over-generalizing from one provider. Course-specific prerequisites or duration do not establish universal FEEC eligibility or exam timing, and the public course PDF is undated. Use it as a window into the practical skills involved, not as a substitute for ETA's own requirements. More on pathways in FEEC Training.

The Three Content Areas in Detail

Domain 1: Aviation Fiber Optic Theory and Fundamentals

This is the conceptual base. You need to understand how light behaves in fiber and why aerospace installations impose tighter discipline than typical enterprise cabling.

  • How optical signals travel through fiber and what causes loss
  • Why contamination and geometry at the connector interface matter so much
  • Aviation-specific context drawn from the ARINC reports that underpin the certification
  • Vocabulary you will need to read test results and procedures correctly

Domain 2: Inspection and Cleaning Practices

This area is the heart of the credential and the reason "Endface Cleaning" is in the name. It covers inspection and cleaning on single-ferrule connectors and termini, and on multi-terminus connectors, specifically D38999, ARINC 600 and EPX connectors. It also covers use of the fiber optic video inspection probe (FOVIS).

  • The inspect-clean-reinspect cycle and when each step is justified
  • Differences between cleaning a single ferrule and a multi-terminus connector face
  • Recognizing what a contaminated or damaged endface looks like through the probe
  • Using video inspection correctly so that what you see is what is actually there
  • Handling practices that avoid re-contaminating a cleaned surface

Domain 3: Testing Theory and Practices

This area addresses link loss testing and troubleshooting procedures and best practices. It connects naturally to the test equipment used in training.

  • Link loss measurement with a light source and power meter
  • Why reference and setup choices change the numbers you record
  • Using a visual fault locator to find breaks and tight bends
  • A structured troubleshooting approach when a link fails its loss budget
  • Documenting results so another technician can verify them

Key Takeaway

Domains 2 and 3 are procedural and equipment-driven, so memorizing terms will not be enough. Practice reading inspection scenarios and loss-test setups, and pair every concept with the tool used to verify it. A focused review is in the FEEC Cheat Sheet.

Sequencing Your Preparation Across the Domains

Because the exam is only 25 questions but spans theory, inspection and testing, breadth beats depth in any single area. A short, domain-ordered plan works well, with the hands-on course timing set by your provider. Build the schedule around the course, then use the weeks around it for reinforcement. The full method is in the FEEC Study Guide.

Week 1

Domain 1 foundations

  • Review fiber fundamentals and aviation context before any hands-on work
  • Learn the loss and contamination vocabulary used in Domains 2 and 3
Week 2

Domain 2 inspection and cleaning

  • Study connector types: single ferrule, D38999, ARINC 600, EPX
  • Reinforce what you practice in the approved course with FOVIS image review
Week 3

Domain 3 testing and troubleshooting

  • Work through link loss setups and failure scenarios step by step
  • Finish with mixed questions from all three areas on the practice test site

Doing theory first matters because inspection and loss testing both rest on it; doing testing last lets you tie measured results back to the contamination you learned to spot in Week 2.

Test-Day Rules and Retake Conditions

ETA requires photo ID and proctoring. Its general onsite FAQ permits scratch paper and non-programmable or scientific calculators, prohibits personal electronic devices, and requires used scratch paper to be surrendered. Remote-specific permissions should be confirmed through your delivery arrangement rather than assumed. No FEEC-specific open-book or adaptive-testing status was verified, so plan on a closed, fixed-length exam.

One free retake is available within one year of the first session under ETA's stated conditions. That does not mean free repeat tuition or waived remote charges, so a second attempt can still carry costs. Special accommodations are handled through ETA's accommodations process.

Validity and Renewal: Where the Sources Disagree

The current certification term is two years. ETA's FEEC-specific maintenance section says people performing the certified job for at least 60% of a full-time work year renew annually using an employer proficiency affidavit, while others must recertify, and failing the recertification practical requires training again. The linked renewal form lists a $50 renewal fee, though its revision date is uncertain.

An unresolved conflict: The renewal form says certifications of people working below the 60% threshold expire after one year, while the current web text says all certifications are good for two years. These statements conflict, and we are not resolving it for you. Confirm the current rule directly with ETA before you plan renewal. Also note that no FEEC-specific numeric continuing-education requirement was verified, so do not assume a general CE-hour rule applies.

Who Uses This Certification

The skills map to organizations that build, maintain and inspect aircraft with optical data links: airline and flight-line maintenance operations, repair stations, avionics installers and aerospace manufacturers. The certification is most useful to technicians whose daily work touches connectors, termini and link testing, because it documents that they follow a standard inspection and cleaning discipline. Role titles vary by employer, and no verified salary data is cited here. For market context, see FEEC Jobs, the FEEC Salary Guide and Is the FEEC Certification Worth It?.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does FEEC stand for?

In this context it stands for Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning, an ETA International aerospace fiber optics certification. See What Is FEEC Certification? for more.

How many questions are on the FEEC knowledge exam?

The official exam-information page lists 25 questions with a 2-hour limit and a 75% passing score. How questions are split between scored and unscored items is not publicly stated, and the item format is not established in public issuer sources.

How much does the FEEC exam cost?

The examination fee is US$130. Required ETA-approved hands-on training is a separate cost unless your provider bundles it, and ETA's remote-proctoring charge of $16 applies where that route is arranged.

Do I need another certification first?

No. FEEC is stand-alone, and an Associate CET is not a universal prerequisite. You do need to complete an ETA-approved hands-on training course.

Can I retake the exam if I fail?

ETA states that one free retake is available within one year of the first session under its conditions. That does not establish free repeat tuition or waived remote charges, so confirm details with ETA before retesting.

Candidates who combine approved hands-on training with focused review of all three content areas are well positioned for the knowledge exam. Reinforce each domain with questions on the FEEC practice test site, and use the issuer's own pages as the final word on fees, scheduling and renewal.

Ready to pass your FEEC exam?

Put this into practice with free FEEC questions across every exam domain.