- The Short Answer: What a FEEC Actually Is
- Who Issues It and Which Standards Sit Behind It
- Why Endface Cleaning Gets Its Own Credential
- The Three Content Areas Candidates Should Know
- Exam Mechanics: Fee, Length, Passing Score and Format
- The Hands-On Training Requirement
- Staying Certified: The Renewal Picture
- Who Uses It and Where It Shows Up in Careers
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Three Domains
- What Isn't Publicly Documented
- Frequently Asked Questions
- FEEC here means Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning, an aerospace fiber optic certification issued by ETA International.
- The knowledge exam is 25 questions in 2 hours, with a 75% passing score and a US$130 exam fee.
- An ETA-approved hands-on training course is required; its cost is separate from the exam fee unless bundled.
- Content spans aviation fiber theory, connector inspection and cleaning (including FOVIS use), and link loss testing.
The Short Answer: What a FEEC Actually Is
A FEEC is a certification in Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning, designed for people who inspect, clean and test fiber optic connections in aerospace environments. It certifies that a technician can examine a connector endface, decide whether it is acceptable, clean it correctly when it is not, and verify the link with appropriate test equipment. The credential is issued by ETA International.
If you have seen the acronym elsewhere, set those associations aside. Several unrelated credentials share the same letters, and nothing about their exams, fees or requirements applies here. Everything on this page concerns the ETA aerospace fiber optics certification and nothing else. If you want a quick comparison of how people phrase the question, our related explainers cover what FEEC is, what FEEC stands for and the meaning of FEEC from slightly different angles.
Who Issues It and Which Standards Sit Behind It
ETA International is the certifying body. Its exams are delivered through ETA Certification Administrators at approved test sites, using Trapeza online testing or paper-and-pencil formats. ETA also offers remote knowledge testing through ExamRoom.AI, though the required practical training and assessment must still be handled through an ETA-approved school. This is not an exam you schedule through Pearson VUE, PSI or Prometric.
On the technical side, ETA's current FEEC page bases the certification mainly on ARINC Report 805-5, with aspects of 803-3, 806-7.2.1 and 807-4. ARINC and SAE standards supply the technical context, but they do not make SAE the certifying body. SAE's landing page dates ARINC 805-5 to January 28, 2019, and describes it as the document covering fiber optic test procedures.
One detail worth preserving: a 2019 ETA announcement referenced 807-3, but that is historical. The live page's 807-4 is the reference to keep in mind. The full ARINC documents are paid standards, so many candidates rely on a training provider's course materials to translate them into practical skills.
Why Endface Cleaning Gets Its Own Credential
In fiber optic work, the endface is the tiny polished surface where light crosses from one fiber to the next. A speck of dust, an oil film from a fingertip, or a scratch on that surface can raise insertion loss, increase back reflection, or cause intermittent faults that are maddening to trace. In an aircraft, where connectors are exposed to vibration, temperature swings and tight access, a contaminated endface is both a performance problem and a maintenance burden.
That is the reasoning behind a credential built around evaluation and cleaning. The core habit it instills is inspect, clean, re-inspect: look first, clean only as needed, and confirm the result before mating. Candidates who treat cleaning as a reflex rather than a verified step tend to struggle with this subject, which is why the inspection tools and acceptance judgment carry so much weight in preparation.
The Three Content Areas Candidates Should Know
ETA has not published an issuer-authored domain list or weighted blueprint for FEEC. The three areas below come from the preparation scope of KITCO, a training provider that ETA lists for FEEC training. They are provider teaching groups, not official exam domains, and no official weighting is implied. For a deeper walkthrough, see our complete guide to the three FEEC content areas.
Domain 1: Aviation Fiber Optic Theory and Fundamentals
The conceptual foundation: how light travels through fiber and why aerospace installations behave differently from building cabling.
- Fiber structure, light propagation and the sources of loss
- Aviation-specific connector and cable considerations
- Vocabulary and standards context drawn from the ARINC reports
Domain 2: Inspection and Cleaning Practices
The hands-on heart of the certification, covering both simple and complex connector formats.
- Single-ferrule connectors and termini
- Multi-terminus connectors, including D38999, ARINC 600 and EPX styles
- Using the fiber optic video inspection probe (FOVIS) to evaluate endfaces
- Selecting a cleaning method, then verifying the result
Domain 3: Testing Theory and Practices
Confirming that a link performs as intended and isolating the cause when it does not.
- Link loss testing with a light source and power meter
- Troubleshooting procedures and best practices
- Role of tools such as a visual fault locator and inspection microscopes
KITCO's course overview lists the equipment candidates handle: optical light source and power meters, visual fault locators, video inspection probes, and 400x and 200x microscopes. Knowing what each instrument shows you, and what it cannot, is a recurring theme across all three areas.
Exam Mechanics: Fee, Length, Passing Score and Format
| Item | What ETA Publishes |
|---|---|
| Knowledge exam length | 25 questions |
| Time allowed | 2 hours |
| Passing score | 75% on the knowledge exam; required hands-on competency must also be satisfied |
| Exam fee | US$130, with no member/non-member difference published |
| Remote proctoring | $16 charge for the two-hour remote route where arranged |
| Retake | One free retake within one year of the first session, under ETA's stated conditions |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
A few cautions keep expectations realistic. ETA does not state how many of the 25 questions are scored versus unscored, so avoid calculating a magic "number correct" target. The public sources also do not specify the knowledge-item format, so treat any claim that FEEC uses a particular multiple-choice style as unverified. Likewise, third-party claims of a longer question count are not supported by the issuer's information page.
On exam day, ETA requires photo ID and proctoring. Its general onsite FAQ allows scratch paper and non-programmable or scientific calculators, prohibits personal electronic devices, and requires used scratch paper to be surrendered. If you test remotely, confirm what is permitted through the delivery arrangement. For detail on the score threshold, see our page on the FEEC passing score, and for the money side, our FEEC certification cost breakdown.
The Hands-On Training Requirement
This is the feature that most separates FEEC from a pure knowledge test. Candidates must complete an ETA-approved hands-on training course. FEEC is stand-alone, so an Associate CET is not a universal prerequisite, and no mandatory degree, employment-hour threshold or reference count was verified as an initial eligibility requirement. The gate is the training itself.
ETA names KITCO specifically for FEEC training, and KITCO states that completing its knowledge competencies and hands-on skillsets qualifies students to sit the exam. Treat that as a provider statement about its own course rather than a universal rule. Course duration and course-specific prerequisites are likewise provider details, not issuer-mandated hours. Our pages on FEEC requirements and FEEC training go further into how to qualify.
Key Takeaway
Choose your training provider first, then plan the exam around it. Because the hands-on assessment runs through an ETA-approved school, even a candidate who tests remotely cannot skip the practical component.
Staying Certified: The Renewal Picture
ETA's current web text describes a two-year certification term. The FEEC-specific maintenance section adds a split: people who perform the certified job for at least 60% of a full-time work year renew annually using an employer proficiency affidavit, while others must recertify, and failure of the recertification practical means training again. The linked renewal form lists a $50 renewal fee, though its revision date is uncertain.
Here is the catch worth flagging honestly: the renewal form says certifications of workers below the 60% threshold expire after one year, while the web text says all certifications are good for two. These two issuer sources conflict, and this article does not resolve it. Confirm the current rule directly with ETA before planning a renewal. No FEEC-specific continuing-education hour requirement was verified, so do not assume a general CE rule applies.
Who Uses It and Where It Shows Up in Careers
The certification speaks to people whose daily work puts them at the connector: avionics and aircraft maintenance technicians, installers and integrators working on aircraft fiber networks, flight-line and inspection staff, and quality personnel who sign off on link performance. Employers include airlines and maintenance organizations, repair stations, aerospace manufacturers and the contractors that support them.
No public salary or hiring-volume figures are tied to FEEC specifically, so any precise earnings claim would be guesswork. The practical value is more qualitative: it documents a skill that is hard to fake, because inspection judgment and cleaning technique are visible in hands-on assessment. Whether that justifies the cost depends on your role and employer expectations. Our analyses of FEEC jobs, earnings and whether the certification is worth it work through that decision.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Three Domains
One short note on method, tied to the content rather than generic advice. Because Domain 1 supplies the vocabulary that Domains 2 and 3 depend on, it makes sense to front-load theory, then spend the most time where the hands-on component lives.
Theory first
- Fiber construction, loss mechanisms and aviation-specific context
- Skim ARINC 805-5 terminology through your course materials
Inspection and cleaning
- Single-ferrule versus multi-terminus connectors (D38999, ARINC 600, EPX)
- FOVIS interpretation, then inspect-clean-reinspect routines
Testing and troubleshooting
- Link loss measurement logic and reference practices
- Fault-isolation reasoning, then full timed practice sets
For a fuller plan, see our FEEC study guide, and keep our one-page FEEC cheat sheet handy for the final review. To test yourself against exam-style questions, try the FEEC practice tests. Remember that any practice-bank allocation across topics is editorial, not an official weighting.
What Isn't Publicly Documented
Honest preparation means knowing the gaps. The reviewed official sources do not disclose a pass rate, so be skeptical of any seller percentage; none of those are FEEC cohort data. For a realistic view of difficulty, see how hard the FEEC exam is and what the pass rate data shows. Also unverified: the official domain count and weights, the exact current exam-form year, the precise practical-assessment timer, and any issuer-mandated course-hour total. ETA's "Competencies - What's covered?" link leads to a generic ARINC catalogue rather than a topic outline.
The sensible response is to rely on your approved provider's materials, confirm logistics with ETA, and use practice questions to reinforce concepts rather than to guess at hidden weightings.
Frequently Asked Questions
In this context it stands for Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning, an aerospace fiber optic certification from ETA International. Other credentials share the acronym, but they are unrelated. See also what FEEC means.
ETA's exam-information page lists 25 questions with a 2-hour time limit. The split between scored and unscored items is not publicly stated, and the passing score is 75%.
Yes. An ETA-approved hands-on training course is required, and the practical competency must be satisfied in addition to passing the knowledge exam. FEEC is stand-alone, so no other certification is a universal prerequisite.
The examination fee is US$130, with no member discount published. Required training is a separate, unverified amount unless bundled, and ETA's remote-proctoring route carries a $16 charge. A full cost breakdown explains how these pieces add up.
ETA's current web text states a two-year term, but its FEEC maintenance section and renewal form describe a conflicting one-year expiry for people working below 60% of a full-time year. Confirm the current rule with ETA before relying on either figure.