- The Short Answer: What the Letters Spell Out
- Why the Label Needs Pinning Down
- Who Stands Behind It
- The Three Areas Behind the Name
- What "Evaluation" Really Means on a Flight Line
- What "Endface Cleaning" Involves
- How You Earn It: Training Plus a Knowledge Exam
- The Numbers Worth Knowing
- Staying Certified: Where the Sources Disagree
- Where the Credential Fits in a Career
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Three Areas
- Frequently Asked Questions
- FEEC stands for Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning, an ETA International credential for aerospace fiber work.
- The knowledge exam has 25 questions, a 2-hour limit, and a 75% passing score.
- An ETA-approved hands-on training course is required; the $130 exam fee does not include it.
- Preparation maps to three areas: theory, inspection and cleaning, and link loss testing.
The Short Answer: What the Letters Spell Out
On this site, FEEC means Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning. It is a certification issued through ETA International for technicians who inspect, clean, and test fiber optic connections in aerospace settings. Each word in the name points at real work: evaluation is the inspection and testing of a fiber link, and endface cleaning is the removal of contamination from the tiny glass surface where two fibers meet.
If you have seen this exact question answered elsewhere on the site, such as What Does FEEC Stand For? or FEEC Meaning, this article takes the same starting point and goes further into what the name implies about the job, the exam, and the preparation.
Why the Label Needs Pinning Down
Acronyms get reused. A three- or four-letter abbreviation can sit on several unrelated credentials, which is why a search for "FEEC" can return confusing results. For the credential discussed on this site, ETA International uses FEEC as its abbreviation for the specific aerospace fiber optics certification, and the abbreviation should always be read alongside the full name: Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning.
Practically, this matters for three reasons:
- Fees: Only the ETA exam fee and related charges described below apply to this credential.
- Content: Your study material should be about aerospace fiber connectors, inspection, cleaning, and link loss testing, not general networking theory alone.
- Delivery: Testing runs through ETA's administrators, not a generic commercial testing network.
For a plain-language overview of the credential itself, see What Is FEEC? and What Is FEEC Certification?.
Who Stands Behind It
The certifying body is ETA International. The technical backdrop comes from aerospace standards. ETA's current page bases FEEC mainly on ARINC Report 805-5, with aspects of 803-3, 806-7.2.1, and 807-4, and SAE's landing page dates ARINC 805-5 to January 28, 2019. Those standards supply technical context, but ETA remains the issuer of the certification.
Two details are worth keeping straight:
- The 2019 ETA announcement refers to 807-3; that reference is historical, and the live page's 807-4 is the one to note.
- ETA's "Competencies" link leads to a generic SAE catalogue of ARINC standards rather than a candidate-friendly syllabus, and the full standards are paid documents.
That second point shapes how candidates prepare. Because no public issuer-authored topic outline with weights was verified, most people lean on an ETA-approved training course to learn what the credential expects.
The Three Areas Behind the Name
The preparation scope for this credential falls into three areas. These come from the course content of KITCO, an external training provider that ETA names and links for FEEC training. They are provider teaching groups, not an official ETA exam blueprint, and no official domain count or percentage weights have been verified. Even so, they describe the real skill set well.
| Area | What it covers | Which word in the name it serves |
|---|---|---|
| Aviation Fiber Optic Theory and Fundamentals | The principles behind how light moves through aircraft fiber links | Foundation for both words |
| Inspection and Cleaning practices | Single ferrule connectors and termini, multi-terminus connectors (D38999, ARINC 600, EPX), and use of the fiber optic video inspection probe (FOVIS) | Endface Cleaning, and the inspection half of Evaluation |
| Testing theory and practices | Link loss testing, troubleshooting procedures, and best practices | Evaluation |
For a deeper walk-through of how these areas break down, read FEEC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 3 Content Areas.
What "Evaluation" Really Means on a Flight Line
"Evaluation" in the credential name covers the judgment calls a technician makes about a fiber link: is the connector endface clean enough, is the loss in the link acceptable, and where is a problem likely hiding if it is not? Provider course material for this credential lists the equipment candidates are trained on, and the list reads like a field kit:
- Optical light source and power meter
- Visual fault locator
- Video inspection probes
- 400x and 200x microscopes
Testing Theory and Link Loss Practice
This is the evaluation side of the credential. Candidates are expected to understand why a link behaves the way it does and how to find out when it does not.
- Link loss testing: what is being measured and why
- Troubleshooting procedures, working from symptom to cause
- Best practices for repeatable, defensible test results
- Matching the instrument (power meter, light source, visual fault locator) to the question being asked
A useful mental model: the light source and power meter answer "how much light arrives," the visual fault locator helps answer "where does it leak," and the inspection probe and microscopes answer "what is sitting on the glass." A technician who understands which tool answers which question is doing evaluation, not just pressing buttons.
What "Endface Cleaning" Involves
The endface is the polished tip of the fiber inside a connector. Contamination there can degrade a link or damage a mating connector, which is why inspection and cleaning get their own area in the preparation scope. The aerospace twist is the variety of hardware: it is not only single-fiber connectors on a bench, but multi-terminus connectors found in aircraft, including D38999, ARINC 600, and EPX types.
Inspection and Cleaning Practices
The most hands-on area of the credential, and the one that most distinguishes it from general fiber knowledge.
- Single ferrule connectors and termini versus multi-terminus connectors
- Using the fiber optic video inspection probe (FOVIS) to view the endface
- Knowing when a connector needs cleaning, and when to inspect again after cleaning
- Handling D38999, ARINC 600, and EPX connectors without introducing new contamination
How You Earn It: Training Plus a Knowledge Exam
Earning FEEC has two parts that must both be satisfied: a proctored knowledge examination and a required hands-on training/skills component handled through an ETA-approved school. ETA's own materials make clear that remote knowledge testing, including its ExamRoom.AI option, does not replace the hands-on requirement.
Testing is delivered by ETA Certification Administrators at approved sites, using Trapeza online testing or paper and pencil. ETA also offers remote proctoring. This is not a Pearson VUE, PSI, or Prometric exam, so do not look for it in those scheduling systems.
Eligibility is simpler than many candidates expect. FEEC is stand-alone, and an Associate CET is not a universal prerequisite. No mandatory degree, employment-hour threshold, or reference count was verified as an initial exam eligibility requirement. The gate is the approved hands-on course. For the full picture, see FEEC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify and FEEC Training.
Scheduling details live in FEEC Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
The Numbers Worth Knowing
| Item | What the issuer sources support |
|---|---|
| Governing body | ETA International |
| Exam fee | US$130 (no member/non-member differential published in the current exam box) |
| Remote proctoring | $16 for ETA's two-hour remote-proctoring charge, where that route is arranged |
| Knowledge exam length | 25 questions on the official exam-information page |
| Time limit | 2 hours |
| Passing score | 75% on the knowledge exam, plus satisfying the hands-on competency |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed in the reviewed official sources |
| Free retake | One, within one year of the first session, under ETA's stated conditions |
A few cautions keep these numbers honest:
- $130 is not an all-in price. The required approved training is a separate cost unless your provider expressly bundles it. See FEEC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
- Do not back-calculate a "minimum correct" count. The scored versus unscored allocation is not publicly stated, so 75% cannot be converted into a fixed number of questions. More in FEEC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
- Treat pass-rate claims skeptically. Seller success percentages are not cohort pass rates. See FEEC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
- The question format is not officially specified. The public issuer sources do not establish the item style, so do not rely on marketplace descriptions of it.
Key Takeaway
Budget for three separate things: approved hands-on training, the $130 exam fee, and, if you test remotely, the $16 remote-proctoring charge. Then confirm with your training provider what is bundled before you pay for anything twice.
Staying Certified: Where the Sources Disagree
The current certification term is two years. After that, ETA's FEEC maintenance section describes a split: people performing the certified job for at least 60% of a full-time work year renew annually using an employer proficiency affidavit, while others must recertify, and failure of the recertification practical requires training again.
Here is the catch. The linked renewal form says certification for workers below the 60% threshold expires after one year, yet the current web text says all certifications are good for two years. That conflict sits in ETA's own sources and has not been resolved here, so confirm directly with ETA before planning your renewal calendar. The form lists a $50 renewal fee, though its exact revision date is uncertain.
No FEEC-specific numeric continuing-education hour requirement was verified, so do not assume the general ETA hour rules apply to this credential.
Where the Credential Fits in a Career
FEEC is aimed at people who touch aircraft fiber connections: installers, inspectors, and test technicians in aerospace maintenance and manufacturing environments. The provider course attached to this credential is titled around flight line inspection, cleaning, and test work, which tells you where the day-to-day application sits. Roles that involve connectors on aircraft, avionics installation, and line or hangar maintenance are the natural fit.
The credential does not come with a published salary figure from the issuer, and no earnings number is claimed here. If you are weighing the investment, these companion pieces discuss it from different angles: FEEC Jobs, FEEC Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis, and Is the FEEC Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Three Areas
You do not need an elaborate method for this credential; you need the right order. Because the inspection and cleaning area is the most hands-on and the most distinctive, schedule it when you have access to the actual equipment during your approved course, and use theory and testing review to bracket it.
Theory and Fundamentals
- Build the aviation fiber optic vocabulary and concepts first, since both other areas depend on them
- Note which instrument answers which question
Inspection and Cleaning
- Pair reading with hands-on time on single ferrule and multi-terminus connectors
- Learn D38999, ARINC 600, and EPX connectors by name and by look
- Practice the inspect-clean-re-inspect sequence with the video inspection probe
Testing, Link Loss, and Troubleshooting
- Work through link loss testing logic and troubleshooting from symptom to cause
- Take timed practice sets on the FEEC practice test to rehearse the 2-hour, 25-question rhythm
If you want a fuller plan, the FEEC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt goes deeper, and FEEC Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts is useful for a last review. If you are wondering how demanding the exam feels, see How Hard Is the FEEC Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026. You can also explore the FEEC Exam Prep practice questions at any point in your preparation.
On exam day, expect photo ID and proctoring. ETA's general onsite FAQ permits scratch paper and non-programmable or scientific calculators, prohibits personal electronic devices, and requires used scratch paper to be surrendered. Remote-specific permissions should be confirmed through your delivery arrangement.
Frequently Asked Questions
FEEC stands for Fiber Optics Evaluation & Endface Cleaning, an ETA International certification for aerospace fiber optic inspection, cleaning, and testing. For this site, it refers to no other credential. See also What Does FEEC Mean?.
ETA's official exam-information page lists 25 questions with a 2-hour time limit. The scored versus unscored allocation is not publicly stated, and the exact item format is not established by the public issuer sources.
Yes. An ETA-approved hands-on training course is required, and the hands-on competency must be satisfied in addition to passing the knowledge exam at 75%. The training cost is separate from the $130 exam fee unless your provider bundles it.
No. FEEC is stand-alone, and an Associate CET is not a universal prerequisite. No mandatory degree or fixed employment-hour threshold was verified as an initial eligibility requirement.
ETA's current text gives a two-year term, but its FEEC renewal form says workers performing the job under 60% of a full-time year see expiration after one year. Because those sources conflict, confirm your specific renewal terms with ETA directly.